Switch Theme:

When a flamer template hits a tank...what happens?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Ok. My question is simple. For the purposes of answering the question, we will use an against the rules unit.

SO! We have a terminator with a flamestorm cannon. He is standing 1 inch from a Chaos rhinos front armour. He burns the vehicle. The template reaches all the way to the back of the rhino, touching its rear armour. My question is what armour facing does it hit? And if it hits front because thats where its coming from, say your standing to the side of the rhino, could you position the template so its touching rear armour to get a rear armour hit?
   
Made in us
The Hammer of Witches





A new day, a new time zone.

It hits the front armor, because that's the side that the firing model is facing.

If you're facing the side armor, you hit the side armor.

"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..."
Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






Bookwrack wrote:It hits the front armor, because that's the side that the firing model is facing.

If you're facing the side armor, you hit the side armor.

For confirmation: P60 of the BRB, "Template and Blast Weapons against Vehicles"
   
Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Flamer templates are slightly more placeable than blast templates. Ok new question.

If theres a 2 inch high wall, one enemy on your side, the rest on the other, can you flame through it? Because templates dont get STOPPED by cover, they just get a cover save from it. But templates ignore cover save sooo..does it allow you to burn the models behind it?
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

Can you see the other models? If so, then you can flame them. Otherwise you can't because you have to have LOS to shoot at something.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

You need LOS to target a unit, but the template hits any models fully or partially under the template.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






Are you sure you need to target a unit to fire a template weapon? (I don't have a book on me).
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Yes. You must choose a target for any shooting.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





except in the case of barrage weapons which do not need line of sight

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/03 17:44:08


You love it you slags!
Blood Ravens 1500 pts 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Joetaco wrote:except in the case of barrage weapons which do not need line of sight
Err. . . You still need to choose a target.



"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Joetaco wrote:except in the case of barrage weapons which do not need line of sight


Yep, still need to choose a target, as the blast marker must still have it's center hole located over a model in the target unit.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






OK, thanks for the lookup. Just thinking out loud here: If you can see any enemy model, that means you can try to shoot at it (with the normal provisos). With a template weapon it has to hit as many models in the target unit as possible. If it can't reach, the max is 0 and it makes no difference which way the template was orientated. The template could then be placed to hit the unit on the other side of the wall, even if it is out of view and not an eligible target (as in Jaon's example).

Any objections?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes: any weapon which is not in range automatically misses. So nothing can possibly be hit.
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

If the target is out of view it is not an eligible target.

If you have LOS to a model, and the template falls over another enemy unit, any models that fall under the template are hit.

It still has to be a valid target in the first place.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





I purposely said theres one enemy on your side of the wall and the rest behind it, SO you could actually target it.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Jaon wrote:I purposely said theres one enemy on your side of the wall and the rest behind it, SO you could actually target it.
Yes, and in this case, models under the template but out of LoS still count as being hit since you legally targeted the unit.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes: any weapon which is not in range automatically misses. So nothing can possibly be hit.


I see. Thanks. (You ruin all my fun nos, with your knowledge of the actual rules.)

@Joan: Didn't read that properly, sorry.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/04 14:02:50


 
   
Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Soup and a roll wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes: any weapon which is not in range automatically misses. So nothing can possibly be hit.


I see. Thanks. (You ruin all my fun nos, with your knowledge of the actual rules.)

@Joan: Didn't read that properly, sorry.


Please. My name is Jaon. Pronounced Jay-on. Its people like you who make me want to change my gamer tag.

   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






Didn't read that properly either. Might have to take a night-course. Sorry Jaon!
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior




Gwar! wrote:
Jaon wrote:I purposely said theres one enemy on your side of the wall and the rest behind it, SO you could actually target it.
Yes, and in this case, models under the template but out of LoS still count as being hit since you legally targeted the unit.


^^This. LOS targetting is done from firing model to UNIT. If the firing model can draw line of sight to any of the unit then he can target the unit. then you place the template over as many models as you can (even if you can't draw LOS to any of those models. the model you can see doesn't have to be covered by the template). They are of course under 4+ cover but most if not all template weapons ignore cover.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/04 16:45:02


 
   
Made in de
Oberleutnant




Germany

Another question that fits here I think,
can I freely place the blast template anywhere on a vehicle?
I assume I need LOS to the spot on the vehicle.


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Dark Scipio wrote:Another question that fits here I think,
can I freely place the blast template anywhere on a vehicle?
I assume I need LOS to the spot on the vehicle.
Yes and Surprisingly no.

You can put the Marker anywhere over the Hull of the vehicle so long as the hole is completely over the vehicle.
This can be placed anywhere, even over a portion of the hull that you do not have LOS to. The only LOS Requirement is for you to be able to see at least 0.0000000... 000001% of the facing of the vehicle you are shooting at. If that's true, then the Marker is placed anywhere you want.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/04 17:26:06


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

I'm pretty sure you have to see where you're putting the blast template.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in ca
Rough Rider with Boomstick





Ontario

Nope. I could put the blast marker on the other side of the tank if i wanted to. But, would it be useful?
No, since it's always better to put it in the middile.
Gwar knows what he's talking about, though.

I have 2000 points of , called the Crimson Leaves.
I will soon be starting WoC, devoted to
I have 500 points of , in blueberry and ice cream (light grey and light blue) flavour. From the fictional world Darkheim.
DarkHound wrote:Stop it you. Core has changed. It's no longer about nations, ideologies or ethnicity. It's an endless series of proxy battles, fought by mercenaries and machines. Core, and its consumption of life, has become a well-oiled machine. Core has changed. ID tagged soldiers carry ID tagged weapons, use ID tagged gear. Nanomachines inside their bodies enhance and regulate their abilities. Genetic control. Information control. Emotion control. Battlefield control. Everything is monitored, and kept under control. Core has changed. The age of deterrence has become the age of control. All in the name of averting catastrophe from weapons of mass destruction. And he who controls the battlefield, controls history. Core has changed. When the battlefield is under total control, war... becomes routine.

 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Monster Rain wrote:I'm pretty sure you have to see where you're putting the blast template.


While you would indeed think that, nothing is the rules requires you to see the location of the blast marker when placing it on a vehicle. All that is required is to see some portion of the vehicle.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

My rule book is on a moving truck, so I'll have to defer on this one for now. It seems to me that there is a distinction between targeting a vehicle and placing a blast marker over it...

You win. For now.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Monster Rain wrote:My rule book is on a moving truck, so I'll have to defer on this one for now. It seems to me that there is a distinction between targeting a vehicle and placing a blast marker over it...

You win. For now.


The rules are covered nicely on page 60 (when you get your book back off the truck )

When you fire at a vehicle you must be able to see its hull or turret. You then roll to hit as normal.

For a blast weapon, you place the marker so the hole is over any part of the vehicle's hull then roll for scatter.


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







JSK-Fox wrote:Nope. I could put the blast marker on the other side of the tank if i wanted to. But, would it be useful?
No, since it's always better to put it in the middile.
Gwar knows what he's talking about, though.
To segue quickly to the evil Grey Realm of Tactics™, it isn't, strictly speaking, always better to put it in the centre of the tank.

For example, a unit of Spess Mahrines has just Disembarked from one of their Metal Bawkes and shot the Nastybad enemy with their Mindlazors. They are all clumped together now. One of your Better-Metal Bawkes with a BFG9000 comes rolling up and fires T3h Pi3 Plate of Dhoom© at the Metal Bawks. You can place the Plate in such a way to get a hit on the Bawks and still hit a ton of Spess Mahrines, causing Maximium Baysplosion.

I think there was a point there, but the main gist is that it isn't ALWAYS better. </Semantics Troll>

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/04 19:59:46


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: