Switch Theme:

Dedicated tranport questions. can be scoring units.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Courageous Questing Knight






Australia

Hi guys, so I just commented on a KT question about Dedicated transports.

after reading a bit, I've found out two things:

To be considered a DT by FOC, it can't be attached to a squad.

Dedicated transports can be bought, regardless of wether they're attached to a squad or not.
[page 67. main rulebook cites:]
...
"The only limitation is ... it cannot carry anything other then the squad it is attached to."

Dedicated tranports are treated as the unit they were given to.
So, my SM rhino given to a TAC squad can score it is considered troops.
[page 87, dedicated transports:]

...
"count as being the type of the squad they are bought for"
...
"for example, a rhino given to a space marine tactical squad is considered to be a troops choice"

So, I conclude:
1. dedicated transports can be bought regardless of wether or not they're attached to a squad.
2. dedicated transports can score.
3. a rhino can be given to any squad on the field, granted you do not give it to the squad as a DT.

Correct, no?

DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? 
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior




Unless your riding around in a VW bug that transforms into infantry i'm pretty sure vehicles can't be scoring units under the scoring rules.

Dedicated transports on restrict who they can be deployed with not who they can carry. You can take a DT with your tac squad and drop them off then run off and pick up a termy squad (assuming they fit in the transport of course). Did that answer the question? I was a little confused by it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/03 15:47:57


 
   
Made in au
Courageous Questing Knight






Australia

well... to be a scoring unit, you must be considered troops or have a rule.

they're considered troops.

there is a reference.

DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? 
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior




Read the part under "may never be scoring units" Vehicles are in there.
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Captain Solon wrote:well... to be a scoring unit, you must be considered troops or have a rule.

they're considered troops.

there is a reference.


Reference page 90 in the BRB... Vehicles can never be scoring units.

edit: unless they have a special rule to that effect, ofc

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/03 15:50:45


 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Scoring units come from your Troops allowance*, but vehicles and Swarms can't score*.

*unless they have a special rule.
   
Made in gb
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





England

If there is a scoring unit inside a transport, the transport counts as scoring IIRC, but that isn't quite the same as the transport itself scoring.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






There are several falsehoods in your OP:
Dedicated Transports MUST be bought with a Squad. They talk of actual FOC slot choices with Transport capacity in the DT box, which may be where you are getting this idea.

Dedicated transports are not and are never considered part of the unit they are bought for. For DEPLOYMENT PURPOSES they count as a unit within the same FOC slot as the unit they are bought for.

As said earlier, BRB page 90, Scoring units, first bullet point under "when a unit of Troops does not count as scoring:" When it is a Vehicle.

The first two are found in the pages cited, the Last has also cited page.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/03 16:18:40


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






This is a horrible topic captain.

Constructive criticism aside ()...

Just to add to the good Kommissar's post: dedicated transports can only be deployed carrying their squad (or, of course, empty). Afterwards they are free to carry anyone that can get in.

Just because they are affiliated with a squad doesn't bestow them their troop type. A dedicated transport is still a vehicle.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Soup and a roll wrote:This is a horrible topic captain.

Constructive criticism aside ()...

Just to add to the good Kommissar's post: dedicated transports can only be deployed carrying their squad (or, of course, empty). Afterwards they are free to carry anyone that can get in.

Just because they are affiliated with a squad doesn't bestow them their troop type. A dedicated transport is still a vehicle.


Actually it does bestow their FOC type for deployment; it's on page 87. they do not Keep the status(not that it matters) after deployment, but during deployment they are of the FOC of the infantry they are bought for. This is what allows them to be deployed in a Dawn of War scenario.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior




Kommissar Kel wrote:
Soup and a roll wrote:This is a horrible topic captain.

Constructive criticism aside ()...

Just to add to the good Kommissar's post: dedicated transports can only be deployed carrying their squad (or, of course, empty). Afterwards they are free to carry anyone that can get in.

Just because they are affiliated with a squad doesn't bestow them their troop type. A dedicated transport is still a vehicle.


Actually it does bestow their FOC type for deployment; it's on page 87. they do not Keep the status(not that it matters) after deployment, but during deployment they are of the FOC of the infantry they are bought for. This is what allows them to be deployed in a Dawn of War scenario.


I think he was trying to say it doesn't bestow the 'infantry' type to the transport. They are still a vehicle and vehicles can't be scoring
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Kommissar Kel wrote:Actually it does bestow their FOC type for deployment; it's on page 87. they do not Keep the status(not that it matters) after deployment,
Indeed they do. It never says to remove it.
In missions with kill troop choices giving points, for example, the DT of troops are indeed points.

Unless it specifies FO slots.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/03 18:11:33


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






kirsanth wrote:
Kommissar Kel wrote:Actually it does bestow their FOC type for deployment; it's on page 87. they do not Keep the status(not that it matters) after deployment,
Indeed they do. It never says to remove it.
In missions with kill troop choices giving points, for example, the DT of troops are indeed points.

Unless it specifies FO slots.



Yes and no; the Status of a given FOC is only granted to the DT for those situations that the distinction matters.

In a Spearhead or pitched battle, they have no FOC type; unless part of the victory conditions call for the destruction of a given FOC type and they would fall under that type.

in your example if "bonus KP", or something similar, are given for destroying troop units; then any DT's bought fro troops units are also considered troops units, but a DT bought for an Elite, Fast attack, heavy support, etc are not of any FOC type at all(since it does not matter to the scenario in any way).

They only have a FOC type when it matters and are otherwise completely out of the FOC.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: