Switch Theme:

Ordnance and independent characters  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Sneaky Kommando





Northern Ireland

Just a quick rules enquiry I played orks and my friend has a very sneaky way of targeting my big mek, by simply placing and ordnance template so that it covers my mek on the hope of it scoring a hit, and then he says that all damage will affect him individually and not be distributed through his unit.

Is this true

To see more check out my blog



Armies Played  
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







If the big mek is in a unit, You pick who in the unit takes the wound and needs to try and make their save (if any). The only way that the big mek must take a wound is if every one takes a wound (or if he's on his own).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/07 20:48:02


 
   
Made in gb
Sneaky Kommando





Northern Ireland

that's exactly what I thought after all that seemed a bit pointless if it was true?

To see more check out my blog



Armies Played  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




This happened in 3rd, and was stupid....
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:This happened in 3rd, and was stupid....
You could in 3rd edition force your opponent to move the template or marker to cover and equal or greater number of models.

What really WAS stupid was me being awesome and getting a Squad of Termies exactly 23.9" from your IC and 24.1" from the rest of the unit, meaning only the IC could take any wounds from the 20 Storm Bolter shots and a Krak Missile that just headed your way.

Ahhh, fun times.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/07 21:04:53


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





Is your friend playing with the Necron Monolith? If he is and if I remember this correctly, if the blast template hits, the model underneath take a S9 AP 2 shot so that would counter act this. If not then what everyone else is saying is correct.

8000+points of  
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Kapitalist-Pig wrote:Is your friend playing with the Necron Monolith? If he is and if I remember this correctly, if the blast template hits, the model underneath take a S9 AP 2 shot so that would counter act this. If not then what everyone else is saying is correct.
Sorry but even then the person taking the wound can pick who it effects

necron faq wrote:Q. Can the AP1 hit from the particle whip be
assigned to any member of a squad or does it
have to be assigned to the model under the
centre of the template?
A. Any model directly under the centre of the
large blast template of the particle whip takes an
AP1 hit. The rules for blast weapons state that the
defending player may remove casualties from the
unit as a whole, not necessarily those under the
template, and this rule still applies here, so the
player can assign the AP1 hit to any model in the
unit.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Kapitalist-Pig wrote: If he is and if I remember this correctly, if the blast template hits, the model underneath take a S9 AP 2 shot so that would counter act this.


It's an AP1 hit, and as per the FAQ, can still be assigned as the player wishes in 5th edition.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: