Switch Theme:

auxiliary grenade launcher  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Slippery Scout Biker




Aldergrove BC

Here is my question.

In the entry for the Aux Grenade Launcher it states it can be fired in addition to another weapon, does this mean I have to fire my other weapons to fire the launcher?

I am curious because I had a captain with a bolter an AGL and a relic blade and I was going to fire the AGL and assault, my opponent said that I could not then pointed to the rule entry in my codex and explained to me I had to fire the bolter and the AGL.

I didnt make a big deal out of it then, but it would be good to know if he was wrong in the future.

What do you think?

Blood Ravens 2000 pts
"knowledge is power!!!" 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

No, AGLs are treated like an alternative ranged weapon, IIRC.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






An Auxilliary Grenade Launcher can be fired alone(it is itself a weapon; it is after all in the weapon section of the Wargear descriptions)

Or it can be fired along with another weapon(this part of the description means that you can fire 2 weapons when equipped with an AGL).


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







All that rule means is that you can fire the Bolter AND the AGL if you so wish. You can always choose to just fire the AGL.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Also, the aux launcher isn't bought as part of another weapon (like a dread's DCCW with built in storm bolter) it is a distinct and separate weapon.

The bit about being attached to a bolter is just fluff. The fluff also goes on to say "but more esoteric shoulder and wrist mounts have been employed in the past".

It could be mounted on your captain's bolter, on his backpack, even on the relic blade.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/08 15:18:33


 
   
Made in gb
Tinkering Tech-Priest






Scott-S6 wrote:Also, the aux launcher isn't bought as part of another weapon (like a dread's DCCW with built in storm bolter) it is a distinct and separate weapon.

The bit about being attached to a bolter is just fluff. The fluff also goes on to say "but more esoteric shoulder and wrist mounts have been employed in the past".

It could be mounted on your captain's bolter, on his backpack, even on the relic blade.


Heck, if you wanted you could do a Gargant Job and have it coming out of his belly! Or maybe it doesn't fire grenades at all and is a laser-firing Yarrick-esque eye.

In fact if I were making a character with an AGL I would purposefully avoid bolting it to the bolter, as this could easily lead to exactly this confusion. In fact I once witnessed a bust-up at my FLGS over somebody claiming that due to WYSIWYG if the AGL was on the bolter, it counted as a combi-weapon and could therefore only fire once, and not as well as the bolter.
Needless to say, he was a bit of a twit.

This is Daemonic Cheese:

3000 Pts
2500 Pts
1000 Pts (And growing)

I'd put a quote here, but XKCD would have a better one.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

All I want is frickin' Captains with frickin' grenade launchers on their frickin' heads?

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: