Switch Theme:

Multi-Wound models assault resolution & Model removals durring assaults  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Set up Ork (me) vs Nids. First: my Nobz squad were duel assaulting a broodlord and a carnefex. He (Nids) we're able to get in 3 attacks that were double my toughness for instant death on my 2 wound models. Three dead Nobz. So for assault results he was saying that I had 6 wounds. Was he correct or should it have been counted as 3 wounds. Second: durring an assault (Nobz squad again) my painboy and nobz with choppas had initiative and attacked before my nobz with PK's. He removed the models that were killed by my painboy and nobz with choppas that were in base contact with my nobz that had the PK's and then stated that my Nobz with the PK's were no longer in base contact and couldn't assault. What say you?

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Van wrote:Set up Ork (me) vs Nids. First: my Nobz squad were duel assaulting a broodlord and a carnefex. He (Nids) we're able to get in 3 attacks that were double my toughness for instant death on my 2 wound models. Three dead Nobz. So for assault results he was saying that I had 6 wounds. Was he correct or should it have been counted as 3 wounds. Second: durring an assault (Nobz squad again) my painboy and nobz with choppas had initiative and attacked before my nobz with PK's. He removed the models that were killed by my painboy and nobz with choppas that were in base contact with my nobz that had the PK's and then stated that my Nobz with the PK's were no longer in base contact and couldn't assault. What say you?
1) How many wounds did you lose? 6. Also, Page 36 makes it clear that this is the case.
2) You determine who can hit what at the start of the assault. What he is talking about is how it worked in 4th edition.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/08 10:42:41


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





Gwar your right in so far as they are all in the combat until it is over, but I need more info.

So since you are assaulting what I believe to be two different squads, at this stage still. What models were in base contact with what squad?

Was your painboy and choppa boys in base contact with the squad that he was removing models from? Also, is that squad still there?

The reason I ask those two questions is. If any model is in base contact with a squad that model has to attack that squad/character. If your models kill all the models in that squad before other models that you have make thier attacks you would lose those remaining attacks, UNLESS you had some models that are within 2 inches of the other squad that had not made thier attacks.

It can get very sticky with 2 squads, and how they are placed near the one squad.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/08 19:08:57


8000+points of  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




For the second question my Nobz were assaulting one other unit however they were spread out a bit (had a battlewaggon with a rolla move through them) so my painboy and Nobz with choppas were seperated a bit from my Nobz with the PK's.

 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

For the first question you did take 6 wounds (wounds lost are counted and each Nob was worth 2 wounds).

For the second question models that begin in 'combat' by being within 2" of a model in base always get their swings in 5th edition. The caveat, naturally, is if the squad they are engaged with is completely wiped out...

...This brings up an interesting question - which may be what happened here. If you have a PK in base contact originally with some Gaunts who are all killed, if the PK is within 2" of a model engaged with a Hive Tyrant can it then swing at the Tyrant?

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, as it was only able to hit one unit, the one it was in base with.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: