Switch Theme:

Shooting at vehicles and assaulting the occupants.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Crazed Cultist of Khorne





Of course we all know that if a unit shoots at and destroys or explodes a vehicle the shooting unit can then assault the disembarking occupants.

Here is a situation that came up and my friend has what I think is a strange argument.

My librarian blood lanced his land raider failing to destroy it. Another unit behind the land raider caused it to explode. My friend argues that the text governing this scenario says that only the unit that destroyed the vehicle can assault it and that the Librarian cannot assault the disembarked troops.

The rule says something along the lines of "If any shooting destroys the vehicle..." so I say even though the librarian shot the vehicle and failed to destroy it, other shooting did and my librarian can assault.

I lost my rule book so I don't recall what page this is on.

Thanks

   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






The rule says:
"if a transport is destroyed (either result) by a ranged attack, the unit that shot it may assault the now disembarked passengers"
Only the unit that fired the destroying shot may assault.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Agreed. This comes up every so often and usually is because someone doesn't have an English Degree! :p

Only the unit that actually made the passengers disembark can assault the passengers.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Gwar! wrote:Agreed. This comes up every so often and usually is because someone doesn't have an English Degree! :p

Only the unit that actually made the passengers disembark can assault the passengers.


Or any unit that shoots at the Passengers after the transport is destroyed.

Or any unit that had not shot at all in the shooting phase.



What you should have said, Gwar, was that "The only unit who shot at the transport allowed to assault the passengers, is the unit who forced them to disembark."

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yes, I should have, but I assumed the context was enough to imply the other options! :p

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

In case anyone's hazy, the logic equivalent of this rule is the following:

1) A unit can only assault an enemy unit at which it just shot.

2) A unit that fired at a transport can only assault the transport.

3) If the transport has been destroyed, there is no transport to assault.

Ergo, the unit that just fired at the transport cannot assault the infantry (a seperate unit) previously within the transport, because the unit did not shoot at it.

However,

4) An explicit exception is made for the unit that forced the infantry inside the transport to disembark.

Ergo, the only unit that can assault the infantry previous within the transport is the unit that destroyed the transport.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Wait a damn second. Heres a scenario to ask my kweschun easier.

I have a 5 man termie squad standing 4 away from the transport. I then have a devastator squad with a lascannon 4 away.

Lascannon destroys transport, terminators DO NOT SHOOT.

A) can the devastators assault even thought they fired a heavy weapon
B) the termies should be able to assault because they didnt shoot anything, and theres a unit sitting in the open there, ready to be assaulted.

Aint that fair and legal?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Regardless of the situation, the Devs cannot assault after firing. You fired a heavy weapon. Only units with Relentless (or S&P, which grants Relentless) can assault after firing a heavy weapon.

The Terminators did not fire. They can assault anything they want within range, including the infantry that were previous embarked on the transport.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Combining the logic presented/omitted in this thread with the one presented/omitted in the thread concerning assaulting out of a Wrecked/Exploded vehicle is like dividing by zero.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: