Switch Theme:

Valkyrie Contents Deployment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Darkest Kent (England)

Hey, playing last night, I saw a guy that had an Infantry Platoon that contained:
1 Platoon Command Squad
5 Infantry Squads

He deployed it in 6 Valkyries arranged in 2 Squads. Now, dakka, I wish to know whether this is legal and under what terms?

Cheers

Okay, I've been on a bit of a hiatus 2011-14

Currently working on my Riot Guard.

DA:90-S+++G+M++++B+++I+Pw40k99+D++A+++/cWD142R++T(M)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Yes, it's legal. Each squad in the platoon is a separate unit, and can be placed in a transport and go off and do it's own thing, etc etc. The only requirement would be that the valks in the same squadron have to stick together. But he could disembark one Infantry squad before moving the valk squad, anohter halfway through their flat out move and another at the end of their flat out move (using the special valk deployment rules)

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

cosmic pixie wrote:Hey, playing last night, I saw a guy that had an Infantry Platoon that contained:
1 Platoon Command Squad
5 Infantry Squads

He deployed it in 6 Valkyries arranged in 2 Squads. Now, dakka, I wish to know whether this is legal and under what terms?

Cheers


it is legal under the terms of Warhamer 40,000 v5.0 and Codex: Imperial Guard v4.0.

as long as he didn't blob the squads together via the combined squad rule for platoons, he can do exactly that. that's quite the air cav army he's got there!
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Yep, perfectly legal
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Darkest Kent (England)

Cool, cheers.

Yeah he has 6 Valks and 3 Vendettas all painted, quite the AirCav.

Okay, I've been on a bit of a hiatus 2011-14

Currently working on my Riot Guard.

DA:90-S+++G+M++++B+++I+Pw40k99+D++A+++/cWD142R++T(M)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Navigator







don_mondo wrote:Yes, it's legal. Each squad in the platoon is a separate unit, and can be placed in a transport and go off and do it's own thing, etc etc. The only requirement would be that the valks in the same squadron have to stick together. But he could disembark one Infantry squad before moving the valk squad, anohter halfway through their flat out move and another at the end of their flat out move (using the special valk deployment rules)


except that you can't disembark when moving flat out. thats what grave chute insertion's for.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/10 03:30:10


2011 Record(w/d/l)
Forge World Linuras : ~2500(WIP), 2/0/1
Hive Fleet Acheron: 250, 0/0/0

"You worry too much." 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






There is absolutely nothing which says that the various units within a platoon must stay together.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Emporer Penguin wrote:
don_mondo wrote:Yes, it's legal. Each squad in the platoon is a separate unit, and can be placed in a transport and go off and do it's own thing, etc etc. The only requirement would be that the valks in the same squadron have to stick together. But he could disembark one Infantry squad before moving the valk squad, anohter halfway through their flat out move and another at the end of their flat out move (using the special valk deployment rules)


except that you can't disembark when moving flat out. thats what grave chute insertion's for.


Ummm, yeah, that would be the "special valk deployment rule" whose name I couldn't remember..............

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: