Switch Theme:

Victory Points and Fleeing Units  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Page 143 says VPs are awarded for destroyed units and units that "have fled the table".

Unless I'm crazy, that means fleeing units still ON the table are worth no VPs in this new edition, yes?

Seems clear as can be, given GW's apparent refusal to hire technical writers.

Reason I'm asking is my LGS owner/league organizer insists that the text of the rules as clear as can be that fleeing units DO give VPs. He tells me he's even called GW and they've confirmed that, and that they "all play that way" there at GW.

So, am I taking crazy pills or what?
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




We have read it the same way that a fleeing unit doesn't yield VP unless they make it off the table. It seems counter intuitive, but since they made it so that all fleeing units can rally on , maybe it isn't.

Until GW would FAQ it, I can't see how you can read it any other way.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yup, if you are on the table you are worth full points, and yield none, regardless of wounds, fleeing, etc.

It seems to be an effort to make gun lines slightly less effective, as they very rarely entirely destroy units before they panic, meaning they risk the unit rallying and not giving up any points.

Simply put the guy is wrong, wrong and wrong again.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




At my GW the staff has said that fleeing units yield VP's. However, we don't have anything more than a "local" blackshirt, and the staff has been wrong before (thinking everyone had a rampager banner for a short while). I'd say they yield VP's, but ask your staff beforehand as they might go by "Rulebook doesn't have it no VP's given".
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Have you fled off the table? No? Are you destroyed? No? Then you dont give up any VPS.

It is very, very clear....
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




Minsc wrote:At my GW the staff has said that fleeing units yield VP's. However, we don't have anything more than a "local" blackshirt, and the staff has been wrong before (thinking everyone had a rampager banner for a short while). I'd say they yield VP's, but ask your staff beforehand as they might go by "Rulebook doesn't have it no VP's given".


Considering we have, many times had GW employees (including blackshirts) blatantly contradict GW FAQs at separate stores (3 in the local area), I would not use them as a rules source, as sad as it is to say.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




They do not yield VP. They are still on the table.
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: