| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/10 18:57:54
Subject: Templates in full LOS
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Seattle, WA
|
The rule for a stone thrower says the entire template must be in LOS of the warmachine. This weekend there was some discussion about how this is handled.
The first question is where do you place the template? Is it above the models or on the ground?
Second, if placed in the middle of a unit can you see the entire template? Can you ever see the entire template since the back would be obscured by the front of it unless the warmachine was elevated?
The way it seems to be written is that you always have to fire indirectly unless you are firing at completely open ground with no intervening terrain with the warmachine elevated. I refuse to believe that is the case but I'm confused about the 'entire' statement in the rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/10 21:28:58
Subject: Templates in full LOS
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You cant have pieces of the template hidden behind obstacles etc - you have to place the whole template such that, when you get down and view it, you can see all of the template - ignoring the template itself.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 02:28:11
Subject: Templates in full LOS
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Seattle, WA
|
nothing tells you to ignore the template. In fact it tells you that the entire template must be in LOS. Also, you could never target a unit since the template would be obscured by the target. Dammit sometimes I hate GW!!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 06:22:50
Subject: Templates in full LOS
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
So what do you think is meant by "the entire template must be in LOS?" Seriously? It's silly stuff like this that clogs up the FAQs with meaningless drivel. It is clear what was meant. Don't overthink it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 07:11:51
Subject: Templates in full LOS
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Seattle, WA
|
I think it is very clear what is meant when you say entire. Which is the problem for the reasons mentioned above. Obviously I came here because the rule is ambiguous in that the way it is written is way different than most people play it. If you don't want deal with rule questions you should not visit this forum. Also, your comments are not in anyway helpful to the discussion.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 08:29:38
Subject: Templates in full LOS
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It tells you to place the template above the unit, making it difficult for the unit to block the template...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 09:44:01
Subject: Templates in full LOS
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
a moderator wrote:
Let's try to provide helpful answers to queries. If you think they are stupid, just saying that isn't really helpful and it is better not to post.
Thank you.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 12:47:03
Subject: Templates in full LOS
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yep, you place it over the Unit. This could be immediately over to 20 inches or more over, you will find LOS...
"If placed over the enemy unit the hole must be placed over a single model" pg 114.
"Models beneath the template are ..." etc
So in return to the OP, the template does not have to be lain on the table. You could hover it far above. Therefore RAW technically states that you never have to fire indirectly. You just hover the template that much higher.
.
Automatically Appended Next Post: But thats cheesy.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/11 12:47:55
Black Templar |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|