| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/10 22:26:23
Subject: Assaulting/shooting after disembarking..
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
I just went through my 40k book and was unable to find the rules on this question:
Say a LRC moves 12 inches, at the end of that movement everyone disembarks. Now it's the shooting phase, the LRC can shoot defensive weapons and the AC with POTMS, but can the people who disembarked shoot? Next after the shooting phase, since the LRC is an assault vehicle, they can assault anything within 6 inches.
Am I understanding everything correctly? As I understand it this is possible, but I want to make sure. I seem to recall a scenario where a group of terminators disembarked but didn't shoot before they assaulted. Though they could have been assault termies.. I don't remember.
Thanks, and sorry for such a trivial question.
Worms
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/10 22:33:14
Subject: Assaulting/shooting after disembarking..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
1. They can shoot, but they count as moving (not a problem for relentless terminators, but for most units that means assault and rapid fire weapons only).
2. The LRC can shoot no weapons + 1 weapon with PotMS. This does not include defensive weapons.
3. The models can then assault. If they are relentless, they can assault even if they fired heavy/rapid fire weapons. If they aren't, they can assault only if they fired only assault weapons and only the unit they shot at.
4. As to not shooting, it can be a good decision. If your opponent, for example, has only two models of a unit within 6", you may want to hold your fire, so that he can't kill the close ones in order to prevent you from assaulting. Just my thinking.
|
There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/10 22:44:08
Subject: Assaulting/shooting after disembarking..
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Mekanob - however if memory serves BT can still fire their hurricanes, as it allows them to do so regardless of how far they move. So you are not quite correct.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/10 23:24:26
Subject: Assaulting/shooting after disembarking..
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
California
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Mekanob - however if memory serves BT can still fire their hurricanes, as it allows them to do so regardless of how far they move. So you are not quite correct.
I have played BT through two editions and never seen that rule...doesn't mean it's not there, just have never read that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/10 23:40:42
Subject: Assaulting/shooting after disembarking..
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The original Hurricane Bolter rules (in Codex: Armageddon) had that rule. The Grey Knight Crusader still has it, but it was removed from the 4th edition codexes.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/10 23:45:12
Subject: Assaulting/shooting after disembarking..
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ah GK, knew it was one of the lesser updated codexes...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 03:32:17
Subject: Assaulting/shooting after disembarking..
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
Malta
|
Rather then making another thread to ask this question tought i'd ask here. Can thousand sons shoot after a rhino has moved 6"-12" ? Since their slow and purposeful technicly movement doesn't effect their shooting if im thinking this correctly.
|
The Cursed Lantern Legion 1750pts (30% Painted)
Khorne's Legionnaires 1750pts
Craftworld Korestal WIP Army
Cursed Lantern : W 8 : D 1 : L 2 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 03:45:15
Subject: Re:Assaulting/shooting after disembarking..
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
If a vehicle moves at cruising speed, the passengers cannot fire. Slow and Purposeful/Relentless won't change that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 03:48:58
Subject: Assaulting/shooting after disembarking..
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
Malta
|
RAW say that they can though it doesn't state how much it can move to allow it nor if special rules effect the transported units. Lets say it moved at 6" would it effect the TS?
|
The Cursed Lantern Legion 1750pts (30% Painted)
Khorne's Legionnaires 1750pts
Craftworld Korestal WIP Army
Cursed Lantern : W 8 : D 1 : L 2 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 04:23:06
Subject: Assaulting/shooting after disembarking..
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Dylwar wrote:Lets say it moved at 6" would it effect the TS?
Up to 6", they could shoot (as can anyone else) and would count as stationary when they do so (because of Relentless).
Over 6" they can't shoot, because embarked models can not fire from a vehicle that moved at Cruising Speed.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 04:24:01
Subject: Assaulting/shooting after disembarking..
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
Malta
|
Alright m8 thanks
|
The Cursed Lantern Legion 1750pts (30% Painted)
Khorne's Legionnaires 1750pts
Craftworld Korestal WIP Army
Cursed Lantern : W 8 : D 1 : L 2 |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|