Switch Theme:

Rapid Fire for one turn CSM Combi-Plasma; or single shot?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





I'm confused about a portion of the wargear entry in the CSM codex. Pg. 83 conveniently lists both combi-weapons and Plasma Guns.

Now, the Combi Weapon entry states that the combi portion gets one "shot"; but plasma weapons at close range are allowed to rapid fire.

Does "shot" in this context mean "one shooting phase", or does it mean I cannot Rapid Fire the combi-plasma in the turn I choose to use it and therefore only get one "shot"?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You can fire the weapon ONCE, i.e. "one shot"

However many shots it actually fires is irrelevant, it simply means once-per-game you use X

(plus, you dont rapid fire anything, the same as you dont heavy a lascannon)
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Nosferatu, Please clarify. I think I understand you but please clarify. You are saying:

"shot" in this context means "one shooting phase"; ie: Counts as for all intents and purposes a plasma gun for the purpose of this one shooting phase?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes: when you fire it as a plasma gun it IS a plasma gun, which is rapid fire and therefore uses the rules for rapid fire weapons.

So yes, if within 12" you would get 2 S7 shots out of it, for that phase at least.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






In the context of the combi weapon, "one shot" means one normal shooting attack for that weapon type.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/08/11 17:51:43


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: