| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 17:46:05
Subject: Black Orcs and Armed to da teef rule
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
Hey, i'm new to the WHFB world and i'm somewhat confused about this rule!
"At the start of each combat, a unit of Black Orcs can choose to fight either with a single choppa (in case they have shields), two chopas or with a great weapon."
Alright, so, that's the rule. But i'm a little confused, do they great weapon count as a choppa? With the choppa rule you get a +1 in Strength when you get in the first round of combat, sooo yeah... That's what I want to know.
Also, if you buy shields for the Black Orcs, are they able to still use two choppas and/or a great weapon?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 17:53:39
Subject: Black Orcs and Armed to da teef rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You can buy shields, but you wouldn't be able to use them in hand to hand unless you choose to use a single choppa. GW counts as a GW, not as a choppa.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 18:00:03
Subject: Black Orcs and Armed to da teef rule
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
First of all, thank you. I now understand that the GW doesn't count as a choppa, but - so you mean that if I buy a shield then I won't be able to whack my opponent with two choppas or a GW?
In other words, i'm bound with a shield and a choppa?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/11 18:00:30
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 18:01:38
Subject: Black Orcs and Armed to da teef rule
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above.
IT is a great weapon, it does not say it is a choppa great weapon, so it isnt one.
In addition you can buy shields, gain the benefits to your armour save as you run cross the field, and gain the benefits in close combat if you choose to use a single hand weapon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 18:03:04
Subject: Black Orcs and Armed to da teef rule
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
Now I understand, thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 18:06:01
Subject: Black Orcs and Armed to da teef rule
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
I guess this overrules the BRB stipulation that a model has to fight with a certain weapon. This is a bit of a boost for the orcs. (My hammerers can no longer choose to fight with HW and shield, for instance).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 18:06:55
Subject: Black Orcs and Armed to da teef rule
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep, as soon as the BRB came out people noticed the boost to Borcs in terms of still being able to choose.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|