Switch Theme:

Miscasts and Bonus Spells  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Warwick Kinrade




Mesa, Arizona

Came up today, a guy had a Lvl 2 HE Mage w/ the Silver Wand, so three spells. He lost both Wizard levels from a Miscast and two spells along with it.

Now, there's nothing I can find anywhere that says he CAN'T cast the remaining spell. It seems super fishy that you can cast as a Lvl0 Wizard but there's no evidence I've found to refute this.

Anyone know any different? Just want to make sure it's on the up and up, even if it's insanely stupid.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Wizards are defined as being from levels 1 - 4. If you are not levels 1 - 4 you are therefore not a wizard.
   
Made in us
Warwick Kinrade




Mesa, Arizona

Can I get a specific page where it says this?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Well, looking up the magic rules would be a start.

It doesnt say you are no longer a wizard when you are wizard level 0, however it doesnt need to as the entire game is based on permission.
   
Made in us
Warwick Kinrade




Mesa, Arizona

I read the magic rules, there is nothing that say you lose being a Wizard or require a level to cast a spell. Not sure what you mean about permission but I'm looking for facts.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Because you didnt read what I put down?

I never said the rules state you LOSE being a wizard if you reach 0 - I in fact stated the opposite.

The rules state, very clearly, that a Wizard is defined as having levels 1 - 4. If you have no levels, or level 0, you cannot be a wizard as you do not fit the criteria for being one.

If you are not a wizard then you cannot cast spells,
because to cast spells you must be a wizard. Which is what I meant about permission - in order to do ANYTHING in this game the rules have to give you permission to do so. Ifr you do not have permission to cast spells because you are not a wizard it does not have to tell you you cannot cast, as it doesnt need to - you dont have permission to cast so you cannot.
   
Made in us
Warwick Kinrade




Mesa, Arizona

Okay that makes sense, thanks for spelling it out instead of insinuating. I'll disregard the attitude in favor of the helpful info.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The first post didnt insinsuate anything though....it stated the same thing as the later post, just shorter to just the question asked.

Also as regards "attitude" - misquoting someone by stating the exact opposite of what they wrote isnt a great way to solicit a non-snarky response.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos





On the perfumed wind

Nos,

He does have a point. From what I've seen ou're in the right in about 95%+ of the debates here. I think some people have a hard time seeing that through the snark, though. I think you'd save yourself a ton of time and grief if you packaged things just a little bit different.

RZ


“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.

On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




WHen someone doesnt take the time to read what you have bothered to write, and in fact claims you stated the exact opposite....hard not to be snarky.

Anyways, this thread is done.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

nosferatu1001 wrote:WHen someone doesnt take the time to read what you have bothered to write, and in fact claims you stated the exact opposite....hard not to be snarky.
Actually, it's much harder to be snarky - it requires that you perform an action. Refraining from being snarky isn't so hard - you just don't post.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except I was posting to correct a misconception....

sigh.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos





On the perfumed wind

I'm really just trying to point out something for your YMDC posts in general, not just specifically this post. Thought it might be a useful observation, but you can of course, take it or leave it.

“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.

On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: