Switch Theme:

Template Weapon Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol





University of St. Andrews

So, I have a question about a unit that has both a template weapon, and a standard ranged weapon. For the scenario Ill use an IG Hellhound with a multimelta.

So, the Hellhound trundles up to a Rhino that has some Marines alongside it. It fires both it's weapons at the Rhino. Multimelta shot resolved normally, yadda yadda. my question is that when I'm placing my template, how much of it has to be touching it's actual announced target? Can I just have the template barely nick Rhino, but laid so the majority of it is over the Marines?

"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor

707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)

Visit my nation on Nation States!








 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






If you shoot the rhino then you must place the template to score the maximum number of hits.

Which would be one.

So you can place it pretty much anywhere as long as you score that one hit.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As much as possible of the template must cover the target unit. In all cases whether your target is a vehicle or infantry.

Its clearly written in the rules for template weapons, and comes up about once a month as well...

   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

You have to cover as much of the vehicle as possible without hitting any friendly models.
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol





University of St. Andrews

Yeah, silly of me....I thought I remembered the rule as said earlier, you only have to place it to cover the most models in the unit it can, so against a tank it could barely brush it and still fulfill the rule. However, looking at the rulebook demonstrates I'm an idiot who can't remember rules right.....

Alas, guess my Banewolves will resort to Plan B for now......

"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor

707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)

Visit my nation on Nation States!








 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

A Banewolf should still be able to get a good number of hits on the tac squad - it can move 12" and still fire both the Chem Cannon and the Multimelta, so you just have to maneuver it so the Tac squad is between the Banewolf and the Rhino.
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol





University of St. Andrews

Yep, that is the Plan B. Only problem is that I only used the Rhino with a Tac Squad as an example. My real plan was to have the Banewolf come at the side of a Land Raider that had just charged troops out, and now I'll have to come at it head on. That weakens my plan a lot as the Banewolf is now exposed to 2 twin lascannons as opposed to one, and the charging squad can just hit my Banewolf as/before they charge my gun line instead of maybe having to chase down the Banewolf......

"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor

707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)

Visit my nation on Nation States!








 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




But in what instance would someone disembark a LR and not be in combat? Thats the point of them, after all...!

If you had a sacrifical squad in front for them to annihilate in one round then make sure you string them out, as that will push the marines to one side of the tank.
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol





University of St. Andrews

I do have a sacraficial Guardsmen squad, and they do tend to die. My original plan was to counter by coming at the disembarked troops from the flanks of the LR and disembarked squad. But now my banewolves aren't as garunteeed to get away unscathed, which poses potential problems.

"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor

707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)

Visit my nation on Nation States!








 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

as long as the template is touching that target unit then it can hit as much of anything else it wants(as long as it doesn't hit friendly models)


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Grey Templar wrote:as long as the template is touching that target unit then it can hit as much of anything else it wants(as long as it doesn't hit friendly models)



WRong. The correct rules have already been posted.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






You just have to place it so that the center hole of the template is somewhere over the base of the model. As long as the center hole's over the model's base (or hull in a vehicles case) you can stick it wherever you want.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/13 02:03:50


This discussion is absurd. The mental gymnastics on display here are appalling. The combat familiar gives the DP two attacks with a specific profile. The special rule modifies the DP's attacks, no matter how it got those attacks. The CF's attacks are at AP 2. Anything else is stupid.  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Adanis wrote:You just have to place it so that the center hole of the template is somewhere over the base of the model. As long as the center hole's over the model's base (or hull in a vehicles case) you can stick it wherever you want.


Templates don't have a centre hole. That's Blast Markers.

And as has already been pointed out (a couple of times now) you have to place the template to cover as much of the vehicle as possible. This is explicitly stated in the Template rules on page 29 of the rulebook.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: