Switch Theme:

BA: locator becon and land raiders?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Tried searching on this but the forum keeps throwing up an html error. So I will just ask.

The way the BA codex reads it sounds like I can use a locator becon from a scout squad or drop pod to bring in a land raider. Am I smoking crack, or is that valid?
   
Made in us
Boosting Ultramarine Biker



Saco, ME

I don't see why not. The only limitation listed is that units arriving via a deepsriking transport may not use Descent of Angels (BA FAQ).

 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





You're good. Locator beacons work for all forms of Deep Strike- whether it's teleporting, or using the less advanced 'dropping stuff from the sky' method.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Rock. I'm totally going to drop a land raider on my friends tau army!

I been thinking for a while that with the size of a land raider, it is just not viable to deep strike. But if you can do a deep strike in a controlled area then it is a very valuable asset.

Now to make sure I play it right. when I deep strike the land raider, only part of it has to be within that six inches, just like unites disembarking from a vehicle, only their back part of the base has to be within the two inch?
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Correct. Remember that it will treat difficult terrain as dangerous terrain when it crashes gracefully to the ground like a cinderblock. An ancient, revered, irreplacable, holy cinderblock.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Thankfully where I plan to play my drop pod it should be able to fit.

Now. One more play question, where do I measure the 6 inches from? hull of drop pod when doors closed or from the doors? My understanding of the drop pod is that once doors open then doors always open... Is this going to be an issue?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/12 21:39:43


 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Kilazar wrote:Thankfully where I plan to play my drop pod it should be able to fit.

Now. One more play question, where do I measure the 6 inches from? hull of drop pod when doors closed or from the doors? My understanding of the drop pod is that once doors open then doors always open... Is this going to be an issue?


The FAQ says that you ignore the doors for gameplay purpouse, and that's the only way I've ever seen people play.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





From the hull of the pod, ignoring the doors.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





So ignoring the doors for gameplay purposes mean they don't exist and will not count as "contacting another model" forcing a dif terrain test?

I just want to make sure I do this right so no one cries foul when I bust out an accuratley deployed land raider.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You skip between drop pods and land raiders...

for drop pods you ignore the doors. for land raiders you still ignore the doors - so measure to the hull
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock







Kilazar wrote:I just want to make sure I do this right so no one cries foul when I bust out an accuratley deployed land raider.


IIRC, you cannot assault of of a LR that has deepstriked this turn, so you have to sit tight in it until your next movement phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/15 20:23:26


DC:80S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k99+D++A+++/mWD219R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Xenith wrote:IIRC, you cannot assault of of a LR that has deepstriked this turn, so you have to sit tight in it until your next movement phase.


Correct. Transported units may disembark and shoot as normal, but may not assault.
   
Made in us
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge







But dropping a redeemer would evil!

Jidmah wrote:That's why I keep my enemies close and my AOBR rulebook closer.


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: