Switch Theme:

Pathfinder devilfish  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




if you have a pathfinder team, couldn't you field the devilfish seperate and have a fire warrior team inside it?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Runnin up on ya.

Nope. It's a dedicated transport.

Six mistakes mankind keeps making century after century: Believing that personal gain is made by crushing others; Worrying about things that cannot be changed or corrected; Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it; Refusing to set aside trivial preferences; Neglecting development and refinement of the mind; Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




It doesn't state it as a dedicated transport. It just says they may take it as a transport.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Which makes it a dedicated transport. Meaning you cannot start another unit in it, but you can embark them turn 1.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Nosferatu is correct. In fact, a common tactic is to take one or two PF squads and give their identically-priced D'fish(s) (with the deep strike beacon) to FW squad(s) turn 1.

Basically, with dedicated transports, you buy the transport for a specific squad, and only that squad can DEPLOY inside of it. You can, however, deploy it without the squad inside and embark a different squad turn 1.

The only disadvantage to this is you won't be able to disembark and shoot with that squad turn 1, since they've already moved.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

SaintHazard wrote:Nosferatu is correct. In fact, a common tactic is to take one or two PF squads and give their identically-priced D'fish(s) (with the deep strike beacon) to FW squad(s) turn 1.

Basically, with dedicated transports, you buy the transport for a specific squad, and only that squad can DEPLOY inside of it. You can, however, deploy it without the squad inside and embark a different squad turn 1.

The only disadvantage to this is you won't be able to disembark and shoot with that squad turn 1, since they've already moved.


what he said. except for who is embarked pregame/during deployment, dedicated transports are just like regular ones. if you're going mech tau, just put the pathfinder devilfish in front of the FW squad and embark on turn one.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

khuffy wrote:It doesn't state it as a dedicated transport. It just says they may take it as a transport.


nosferatu1001 wrote:Which makes it a dedicated transport.



For clarity, this is explained in the first line of the 'Dedicated Transport' entry on page 67 of the rulebook.

 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




ahh. thanks for the info.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: