Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/13 23:45:50
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Can a unit move to within 2" of a Librarian and then the Librarian Gate to another part of the board taking the squad that just moved with him??
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/13 23:57:48
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The IC isn't actually attached to the unit till the end of the movement phase, so no it can not.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 00:02:12
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
GOI is used at the start of the movement phase. So no, once you have moved the squad, it's too late to use GOI.
Additionally, while the GOI rules are a little vague, if we assume that 'unit he is with' means 'unit to which he is joined' ... IC's are considered joined to a unit if they are within 2" of them at the end of the movement phase. So if you move the unit up at the start of the phase, he's not considered 'with' them until the end of the phase... by which point, again, it's too late to use GOI.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 07:12:19
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
But can the Librarian use GOI if he is locked in combat?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 07:49:35
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I think most people believe that he can
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 08:47:20
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Courageous Questing Knight
|
I suppose so. it'd be simply that he doesn't count as moving away from combat, he's basically teleporting away.
nones gonna be able to stop him.
|
DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 08:53:43
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Or the unit he's attached with.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 11:11:10
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I play that given it is movement (you are specificaly told ds is movement more than once) then no, he cannot.
The only other similar powers (swooping hawks, VoD) give EXPLICIT permission to use it while engaged.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 11:17:02
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Vancouver, BC, Canada
|
The weird boy has a similar power and it too gives explicit permission to use it while engaged.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 13:37:58
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Couple notes:
1) An Independent Character Moves to join a Squad, not the other way around.
2) When an IC moves to join a Squad he is instantly attached to that squad; there is no "wait until end of movement phase to attach the IC" In fact after the IC attaches himself to a unit; that unit can move no further, if the IC didn't become attached until the end of movement phase then that line/rule would be superfluous.
3) At the end of the movement if the IC is within 2" of one or more units, he is then attached to that unit or his(your) choice of unit. This does allow Units to join the IC but must wait until the end of the movement phase.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 14:33:31
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:1) An Independent Character Moves to join a Squad, not the other way around.
The order doesn't really matter, since the criteria for determining whether he has joined a unit is simply that he must be within 2" of the unit at the end of the Movement Phase.
2) When an IC moves to join a Squad he is instantly attached to that squad; there is no "wait until end of movement phase to attach the IC" In fact after the IC attaches himself to a unit; that unit can move no further, if the IC didn't become attached until the end of movement phase then that line/rule would be superfluous.
Sorry, but this is incorrect. Check the first bullet point on page 48.
Regardless of who moves, the IC is not joined to the unit until the end of the Movement Phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/14 14:34:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 14:38:12
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I wouldn't consider GoI as actual movement. The end result is movement, but GoI itself is a psychic power.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 16:18:59
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
I would belive that GOI could be used in CC.
it says at the beginnning of the movement phase.
you are allowed to use Psychic powers in CC so i would allow you to use this one in CC with the enemy getting a consolidation move.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 18:51:08
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Grey Templar wrote:I would belive that GOI could be used in CC.
it says at the beginnning of the movement phase.
you are allowed to use Psychic powers in CC so i would allow you to use this one in CC with the enemy getting a consolidation move.
Well there is this from the INAT FAQ:
SM.57H.02 – Q: Can „Gate of Infinity‟ be used on a unit (including the Psyker) that is falling back or locked in close combat?
A: No in both cases as „Gate of Infinity‟ uses the Deep Strike rules (which count as movement), and a unit locked in combat cannot move (other than to „Pile-in‟) and a Falling Back unit must make a Fall Back move (which Deep Striking would prevent them from doing) [clarification].
This was discussed in a few other threads. FWIW, I play marines and I don't use GoI out of close combat. My friend plays Necrons and uses VoD out of close combat. The reason is that VoD gives specific permission to teleport out of CC while GoI does not.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/14 20:32:06
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes
|
Like time wizard said most tings that let you leave move out of combat like "veil of darkness" or "'ere we go" say spacificly in the codex that they can so unless it says i would say no.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/14 20:33:13
Did you know? Every sunday from 12 to 5 pm you can get a carvery for £6.95 at the pudding and pye.
|
|
 |
 |
|