Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/19 23:19:31
Subject: Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
This might have been here before, but I couldn't find it.
If I stand in a position with cover save, and throw a demo charge at an enemy, does he recieve cover save?
Also, if it scatters back and hits me, do I get a cover save?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/19 23:21:56
Subject: Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
If you are in area terrain, yes.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/19 23:31:09
Subject: Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
hemlighest wrote:This might have been here before, but I couldn't find it.
If I stand in a position with cover save, and throw a demo charge at an enemy, does he recieve cover save?
Also, if it scatters back and hits me, do I get a cover save?
depends for the enemy. the rules say you can ignore the first two inches of cover if you're the one in it. if the majority of your squad is within 2" of the edge of the cover, the enemy doesn't recieve a save. if the majority are over 2", they do. if it scatters back, you wouldn't get a save unless it was area terrain, in which case your squad would.
i use alot of demo charges and i always tell my opponent the IG apparently gives only the biggest drunks in the corps the demo charges. they can purposelessy only throw them 6" away but can accidentally throw them 15" in front or even 3" behind them at max range!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/19 23:42:54
Subject: Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
Monstrous Master Moulder
Sacramento, CA
|
1 Depends on exact circumstances. You being in cover does not in itself grant cover to the enemy but it is possible that the enemy will have cover from you. If you're shooting through more than 2" of area terrain the enemy has cover. If your cover comes from a wall that you are standing up against the enemy doesn't get cover from that wall. Depends, see rulebook cover section for details.
2 If you're standing in area terrain you have cover. Yes, even from yourself. It should also be possible for a unit to be obscured from itself even without area terrain.
|
Agitator noster fulminis percussus est |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/20 07:10:04
Subject: Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
warboss - that is not how the rule works. You are assuming the converse where this is not logically correct.
Simply being more than 2" inside area terrain ONLY gives your opponent a cover save (if they are standing outside) if you are firing between 2 elements of the area terrain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/20 07:38:11
Subject: Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:warboss - that is not how the rule works. You are assuming the converse where this is not logically correct.
Simply being more than 2" inside area terrain ONLY gives your opponent a cover save (if they are standing outside) if you are firing between 2 elements of the area terrain.
how is that different from what i said?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/20 13:37:22
Subject: Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
warboss wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:warboss - that is not how the rule works. You are assuming the converse where this is not logically correct.
Simply being more than 2" inside area terrain ONLY gives your opponent a cover save (if they are standing outside) if you are firing between 2 elements of the area terrain.
how is that different from what i said?
You forgot an important bit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/20 14:09:15
Subject: Re:Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
Thanks for the answers. The situation this might come into play, is when I deploy my Guardsman Marbo, and use his demo charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/20 14:37:24
Subject: Re:Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
Monstrous Master Moulder
Sacramento, CA
|
Shooting between elements of area terrain and shooting from more than 2" inside area terrain are two different bullet points. If a piece of area terrain is between you and the enemy then it grants cover if you are shooting between elements of it. If the shooter is inside area terrain and has to shoot through more than 2" of that terrain piece that also gives cover.
|
Agitator noster fulminis percussus est |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/20 19:43:56
Subject: Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Raxmel - nope, incorrect, as I have already pointed out.
All it states is that shooting from within 2" does not *grant* a save. It does NOT mean the converse -that shooting from more than 2" in DOES grant a save.
A implies B does NOT mean B implies A. Basic logic there.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/20 20:17:43
Subject: Re:Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Nos is correct. If the target is in the open then you must be firing through 2 elements of area terrain for them to claim a cover save regardless of if the shooter is in the terrain or not.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/21 10:51:11
Subject: Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Maelstrom - not quite. If the target is in area terrain they gain a cover save regardless of where you are shooting from.
If they are in the open and you are shooting from less than 2" from the edge you do not grant a cover save, if you are more than 2" into area terrain you only grant a cover save to a unit in the open if you fire between two elements of the terrain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/21 11:20:05
Subject: Cover save on a scatter?
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
That's right. If you are in area terrain, you are eligible for a cover save even if your own blast scatters back onto you.
|
|
 |
 |
|