Switch Theme:

Tyranid Questions: DeathLeaper Abilities.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






It is late, I'm at work doing some overtime, and I dont have my rule books with me. Only my Tyranid codex and a foggy brain.

---Killing Strike:= Flesh Hooks and C.C. count as rending on any roll "to-wound" of 5 or 6.

*-My question:= does this mean it is already rending and thus has an AP of 1 and yadda yadda, or does this mean it counts as having the rending ability and has the chance to rend from there? I also currently forget if the rending ability is checked during "to-hit" or if it is checked during "to-wound" so that might be the reason for my current confusion.

---"Where'd it go?":= if it's moving phase ends with Deathleaper more than 1" away from an enemy, you can decide to remove Deathleaper from table and place him back into reserves. (or even the Mawloc Burrow ability is worded much the same way)

*-My question:= I was just wondering for some strange reason, I dont know what made me think of this, I was thinking that maybe, possibly since it says "removed from table" first, does that mean any wounds they may have suffered while "on table" are removed/discarded when they themselves are "removed from table" and then they come back into play fully healed?

(long overtime hours + lack of sleep= silly questions and thoughts)



Don't Want a Tyranid Egg Implanted in Your Brain?
GOOD NEWS!!
It's Also a Suppository...
Hive Fleet Malicean
Cult of the Omnipotent Mind's Eye.
Your Vote Counts: C.O.M.E. Join Us! 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Psyker_9er wrote:It is late, I'm at work doing some overtime, and I dont have my rule books with me. Only my Tyranid codex and a foggy brain.

---Killing Strike:= Flesh Hooks and C.C. count as rending on any roll "to-wound" of 5 or 6.

*-My question:= does this mean it is already rending and thus has an AP of 1 and yadda yadda, or does this mean it counts as having the rending ability and has the chance to rend from there? I also currently forget if the rending ability is checked during "to-hit" or if it is checked during "to-wound" so that might be the reason for my current confusion.



Not really sure what you're asking. But when he hits with his flesh hooks, any 5's or 6's to wound count as rending. As in, if he rolls a 5 or a 6 to wound, it rends (AP1 and all that jazz).

Psyker_9er wrote:---"Where'd it go?":= if it's moving phase ends with Deathleaper more than 1" away from an enemy, you can decide to remove Deathleaper from table and place him back into reserves. (or even the Mawloc Burrow ability is worded much the same way)

*-My question:= I was just wondering for some strange reason, I dont know what made me think of this, I was thinking that maybe, possibly since it says "removed from table" first, does that mean any wounds they may have suffered while "on table" are removed/discarded when they themselves are "removed from table" and then they come back into play fully healed?

(long overtime hours + lack of sleep= silly questions and thoughts)


No. Just. . .no. You're closer to the point asking if Deathleaper is destroyed when he leaves the table, because that's actually something mentioned in the rulebook, whereas healing a unit is not.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Actually rending is AP2, not AP1.

All it means is he has an improved chance to rend - instead of needing to roll a "6" to wound he needs a 5 or 6.

And definitely no - any wounds suffered go with him.
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Alexandria

Only rending shooting attacks are ap2, cc rending attacks ignore armor saves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/21 18:16:02


- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







And don't forget his rending is not improved against vehicles.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Wow, just...WOW! Last night I was so freaking tired, and now that I have finally gotten some sleep, I don't even remember posting those questions

puma713 wrote:Not really sure what you're asking

I too don't even know what I was asking.

I can't even begin to comprehend what made me think units heal themselves when they return to reserves. That is like saying when ever my Swooping Hawks use their Skyleap ability all the dead ones come back to life when they deep strike back in.

I just want to say thank you to all of you who have done the noble thing and tried to help me even though I obviously wasn't making any sense. If it wasn't for the fact that I was at work all night, I would say it looks like I was out drinking all night.

I also just want to apologize, and make it my sworn duty to never do any more sleepwalking Internet posting.



Don't Want a Tyranid Egg Implanted in Your Brain?
GOOD NEWS!!
It's Also a Suppository...
Hive Fleet Malicean
Cult of the Omnipotent Mind's Eye.
Your Vote Counts: C.O.M.E. Join Us! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: