Switch Theme:

Casting and the Casket of Souls  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Had a bit of an argument about this today.

The Casket of Souls was always counted as an Incantation (Not a bound item as it cast on 2d6 like any other incantation.)

My question is, if the casting of the Casket is Dispelled (Either by dice or by scroll), is it possible to use the Hieratic Jar to try and cast the Casket's incantation again?

Hoping someone has an answer and an explanation either way.

Thanks for your time.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/22 11:31:14


Fire claws innocents without number
As charred cinders replace green life
Death takes good and evil to their slumber
And guilt stabs into me with its knife 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If it counts as an incantation, and the HJ allows you to cast an incantation again, then yes it should be allowed.
   
Made in us
Lesser Daemon of Chaos




The deck of the Widower

I would say that doesn't work as the jar states the priest may use an additional incantation and the casket is not a priest.

After reading the item entry again it all depends on how the casket is ruled. Is it part of the priest as it is an upgrade to him or is it it's own thing since it's a warmachine?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/22 16:55:20


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Didnt realise it specified "the priest" - the casket is a warmachine and so is categorically NOT the Priest, so it cannot be used on the Casket.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






The casket is NOT counted as a warmachine, it's an upgrade for a character as it is placed when you place the character.

Fire claws innocents without number
As charred cinders replace green life
Death takes good and evil to their slumber
And guilt stabs into me with its knife 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Incorrect:

TK FAQ. Casket of Souls, Unit Type: War Machine.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Fedral wrote:The casket is NOT counted as a warmachine, it's an upgrade for a character as it is placed when you place the character.


I would suggest having a look at the errata before continuing - every item that works this way is now a warmachine, e.g. anvil.
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: