Switch Theme:

++ A few questions regarding Sgt. Chronus:  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Anointed Dark Priest of Chaos






I have a few Questions regarding this model:

1. Does his "placement" within 2" of his tank when it is destroyed/wrecked count as disembarking for purposes of other rules.

My gut says it should.



2. If he is commanding a vehicle that is transporting a unit when it is wrecked/destroyed is he placed as part of that unit or can he be placed on his own?

The whole multiple units in a vehicle thing...



3. Does he count as a unit if eliminated once he is on foot as far as KP, or do you have to kill first his vehicle and then ALSO him to get the KP ofr the tank he was an upgrade for?

Not sure...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/22 22:51:04


++ Death In The Dark++ A Zone Mortalis Hobby Project Log: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/663090.page#8712701
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





CT GAMER wrote:I have a few Questions regarding this model:

1. Does his "placement" with 2" of his tank when it is destroyed/wrecked count as disembarking for purposes of other rules.

My gut says it should.



2. If he is commanding a vehicle that is transporting a unit when it is wrecked/destroyed is he placed as part of that unit or can he be placed on his own?

The whole multiple units in a vehicle thing...



3. Does he count as a unit if eliminated once he is on foot as far as KP, or do you have to kill first his vehicle and then ALSO him to get the KP ofr the tank he was an upgrade for?

Not sure...

1. Probably yes, but I'm not certain. This likely won't happen on your turn, though, so it's rarely an issue.

2. He can't join units - he doesn't have the Independent Character special rule.

3. I don't think he would be, seeing as he's an upgrade and not his own unit. A better way to phrase it would be "Do Combat Squads count as separate kill points?" The answer should be the same.

Apologies. I'm not much help, but these are what my gut tells me.







There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? 
   
Made in us
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





New Jersey, USA

CT GAMER wrote:
1. Does his "placement" with 2" of his tank when it is destroyed/wrecked count as disembarking for purposes of other rules.

My gut says it should.

Your gut would be correct. If you look in the BRB, it states that a passenger of a vehicle that has been wrecked/destroyed is said to be "disembarked". Going by RAW, I would say yes.

CT GAMER wrote:2. If he is commanding a vehicle that is transporting a unit when it is wrecked/destroyed is he placed as part of that unit or can he be placed on his own?

An IC can only join a unit during the controlling players movement phase. While he can actually be placed within coherency with a unit inside the vehicle, he's technically considered his own separate unit until your next Movement phase. If you were concerned of him getting harmed, I would recommend placing him with the squad or even behind it, to provide him cover until it's your turn again.

CT GAMER wrote:3. Does he count as a unit if eliminated once he is on foot as far as KP, or do you have to kill first his vehicle and then ALSO him to get the KP ofr the tank he was an upgrade for?.

He is an IC, therefore he would count as a Kill Point. And no, you don't have to kill both the vehicle and Chronus to get credit for the Kill Points. The vehicle is one Kill Point, and Chronus is another. If Chronus dies with the vehicle, then your opponent gets 2 Kill Points for the kill.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
MekanobSamael wrote:1.. He can't join units - he doesn't have the Independent Character special rule.

If the vehicle he commands is destroyed, then he becomes an IC. It's under his entry in the codex.

MekanobSamael wrote:3. I don't think he would be, seeing as he's an upgrade and not his own unit. A better way to phrase it would be "Do Combat Squads count as separate kill points?" The answer should be the same.

FYI, Combat Squads do count as separate Kill Points.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/22 17:31:47


"This One Is Rurouni... Once Again, This One Will Drift..."
"Rushing towards danger without hesitation isn't recklessness, but bravery... And avoiding danger when there's a chance for victory isn't precaution, but cowardice..."
"I can only go forward." 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Rurouni Benshin wrote:He is an IC, therefore he would count as a Kill Point. And no, you don't have to kill both the vehicle and Chronus to get credit for the Kill Points. The vehicle is one Kill Point, and Chronus is another. If Chronus dies with the vehicle, then your opponent gets 2 Kill Points for the kill.
No.

He is only worth a KP if he ejects. If he doesn't, the opponent doesn't get a KP for him as he never becomes a unit.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/08/22 18:53:03


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Gwar - except it states he becomes an IC and you THEN take the test. So he is therefore part of a retinue, and thus worth 2 KP.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:Gwar - except it states he becomes an IC and you THEN take the test. So he is therefore part of a retinue, and thus worth 2 KP.
I can see how it can be interpreted that way actually, now that I look at it. -Shrug- Yay for the 5 year olds at GW Editing.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It's not a popular way, but it is consistent - the "chronus" tank is then always worth 2KP, regardless of the dice roll.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: