Switch Theme:

Multiple Assaults  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




United States of America

So this weekend I was at a tournament and something interesting came up that I thought was very wrong so here it is.

My Blood Angels Death Company assaulted an IG command squad that my opponent was fielding, now I only had 1 death company guy and Astoroth left so I failed to kill the entire squad during my assault phase. In the next turn my opponent assaulted my Death Company squad with a another ten man veteran squad in an attempt to kill the rest of my Death Company, now there was only 1 guy left in the original command squad and it was Creed who has no special close combat weapons or anything and the Vet squad had a sergeant with a power weapon in it so I thought the Vet squad was a bigger threat, I told my opponent that I was going to attack his Vet squad and he said that I couldn't. The reason he said I couldn't is because according to the rulebook you have to continue to fight whatever you have previously been in combat with even if you were assaulted by a different squad and that basically the only way I could attack the Vet squad was to wait for my next assault phase. Now I personally thought this was bull and my friend at the tournament also said it was bull but the TO ruled in favor of my opponent. I still won the battle so for the rest of the tournament thats the way I played it but it doesn't seem logical.

In a previous tournament the TO ruled against the rule and told us that according to GW this rule was not meant to be interpreted in the way its stated in the rulebook (The TO at the previous tournament has spoken to several GW reps and is also very close with GW admin) so I was inclined to believe him, but I didn't want to argue and since I still won I didn't think it would be a problem. Now I have looked in the rulebook and it looks like RaW thats the way it should be so I just wanna see what my fellow dakkites can tell me about this.

Thanks!

The God Emperor Guides my blade! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The rulebook does NOT state that. See the errata.

"Start of combat" is AFTER all attackers have moved into combat that turn. Otherwise the first turn you charged you would not be able to hit anyone....
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Even before the errata, the rulebook didn't say that.

"Start of Combat" ≠ "Start of Assault Phase"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/22 21:04:03


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: