Switch Theme:

Minor argument regarding Instant Death in 5th  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

So I was playing yesterday and got into a minor argument with my opponent regarding rolling to wound on weapons that cause ID due to strength being double the recipient's toughness.

My argument was that you roll to wound, and, as always, a roll of 1 automatically fails regardless of Strength versus Toughness (as described in the strength-to-toughness reference chart) but causes instant death if it succeeds in wounding the model.

My opponent argued that wounds that cause instant death do not require you to roll at all - it's an automatic kill. So if you hit a T4 model with a S8 power fist, you don't need to roll to wound, as it causes one instant death with no armor saves, but you do roll invulnerable saves - there's just no "to wound" roll.

So I turn to you, Dakka. Which of us was correct? With weapons with S double the opponent's T, do you roll to wound, and one a 1, can it still fail? Or does it just cause one automatic kill and you just skip straight to saves?

Thanks.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






I have to ask WTF your opponent was on that day because I want some of that.

You must successfully wound your opponent before Instant death comes into play. Suffering a wound acts as the trigger for several things in game terms:

-Instant Death
-LD test for force weapon
-FNP test

That's just a snippet. You always always always have to roll to wound, even for ID. In your example, 2+ to wound = squelch.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/08/23 13:40:38


Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




ID requires you to have suffered a wound, it does not state you get to bypass the "to wound" mechanism.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

That's what I thought!

Thanks guys.

It was a kid, so in order to avoid an argument we played it his way.

I noticed that my power fists were killing a few more of his Terminators in close combat under his rules than they would under the actual rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/23 13:44:15


DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





New Jersey, USA

*Breaks out the mini BRB that came with his AOBR set*
*Turns to page 19, and then to 26*

I think what's being misunderstood by your opponent is that in order for a wound to be considered "unsaved", the wound must first be inflicted, and thus a "To Wound" roll must be made, as dictated on page 19. And while I can't find anything to support either of your sides distinctly, as it doesn't say that wounds must or must not be rolled for under the "Instant Death" section on page 26, I would argue that the wound must happen first before a save can be "unsaved", if at all.

Next time you play this person, if you do at all, have him cite in the BRB where it says that's true. Because going by RAI (which I'm sure could open another can of worms, in of itself), you're right.

Hope that clears things up for you.

"This One Is Rurouni... Once Again, This One Will Drift..."
"Rushing towards danger without hesitation isn't recklessness, but bravery... And avoiding danger when there's a chance for victory isn't precaution, but cowardice..."
"I can only go forward." 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You cannto find it explicitly because it isnt needed - you ONLY check for ID *once a wound has been inflicted*, which requires a "to wound" roll.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Page 38 at the bottom of the to wound chart states that a roll of 1 never scores a wound.

P 26 under instant death states "...if a model suffers an unsaved wound from an attack..."

so you still have to roll to wound.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

DeathReaper wrote:Page 38 at the bottom of the to wound chart states that a roll of 1 never scores a wound.

P 26 under instant death states "...if a model suffers an unsaved wound from an attack..."

so you still have to roll to wound.

...better late than never, I guess?

Protip: answering a question that's already been answered is decidedly less than useful.

B+ for effort though.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Yea sorry about that I wasn't paying attention to the others, was watching football :-)

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: