Switch Theme:

Land Raider shooting troops  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




San Diego Ca

So heres the setup:
Land Raider facing Razorback with 5 guys inside.
The Land Raider shoots a Lascannon into the Razorback getting a Pen 5 (wrecked); the 5 guys in the razorback jump out. The Land Raider then uses machine spirit to target the guys who just vacated the Razorback with the T?L Heavy Bolter and shoots them.

Is this legal?

Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







dkellyj wrote:So heres the setup:
Land Raider facing Razorback with 5 guys inside.
The Land Raider shoots a Lascannon into the Razorback getting a Pen 5 (wrecked); the 5 guys in the razorback jump out. The Land Raider then uses machine spirit to target the guys who just vacated the Razorback with the T?L Heavy Bolter and shoots them.

Is this legal?
No. You have to declare all your targets BEFORE any shots are made. Since the Heavy Bolter could not fire at the unit inside at that time, it cannot.

This is also explicitly covered in the Transport vehicle section of the rulebook, where it gives an example of a Lascannon and Bolters from an infantry Squad.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/23 15:53:05


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





New Jersey, USA

Gwar is right. However, Power of the Machine Spirit can allow you to target another target on the table. Reason why the unit in the Razorback isn't a legal target is because they weren't an option for you to shoot at before the Razorback got wrecked.

"This One Is Rurouni... Once Again, This One Will Drift..."
"Rushing towards danger without hesitation isn't recklessness, but bravery... And avoiding danger when there's a chance for victory isn't precaution, but cowardice..."
"I can only go forward." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: