Switch Theme:

Can tanks tankshock onto the board when coming on from reserves?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Can tanks tankshock onto the board when coming on from reserves? Lets say tyranid player gets first turn so the imperial guard opponent reserves everything. The tyranid opponent blocks up the entire table edge with infiltrating genestealers in a congo line. Can the IG tanks coming on from reserve tankshock the genestealers to come on the board? Friend says they can others say no.
   
Made in us
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





New Jersey, USA

I can't find anywhere in the BRB that says you can't Tank Shock while coming onto the board from reserve, but I think you'll run into problems if they make their Leadership check for it.

Because, from what I understand, if a model makes their Leadership roll, succeeds in a "Death or Glory!" attack, and manages to immobilize/stun the vehicle while it's technically off the board, then the vehicle may be considered wrecked for all intents and purposes of it being played in the game. If the vehicle cannot be placed on the board at the time reserves are played, I'm pretty sure that they are considered lost. So best to be careful when using this tactic.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/23 17:43:26


"This One Is Rurouni... Once Again, This One Will Drift..."
"Rushing towards danger without hesitation isn't recklessness, but bravery... And avoiding danger when there's a chance for victory isn't precaution, but cowardice..."
"I can only go forward." 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Buffalo NY, USA

That's an interesting idea. Could you do some of us a favor and give more detail in the tactics section? The LR variant is formidable but half of them have R10 so this is a solid plan to counter the "I'll hold my reserves" plan.

ComputerGeek01 is more then just a name 
   
Made in us
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





New Jersey, USA

ComputerGeek01 wrote:That's an interesting idea. Could you do some of us a favor and give more detail in the tactics section? The LR variant is formidable but half of them have R10 so this is a solid plan to counter the "I'll hold my reserves" plan.

FYI - Death or Glory is taken on the Front AV, not the Rear. Nonetheless, this is still worth looking into.

"This One Is Rurouni... Once Again, This One Will Drift..."
"Rushing towards danger without hesitation isn't recklessness, but bravery... And avoiding danger when there's a chance for victory isn't precaution, but cowardice..."
"I can only go forward." 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Course, since only models actually in the path of the Tank Shock may attempt DoG, it shouldn't be that hard for the tank to avoid any models that have a good chance of stopping it.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




USA

I don't have the BRB in front of me, but I believe tank shock requires you to "aim" your vehicle in the direction you wish to go by physically turning it. From a purely semantic point of view, I can't see how you could do that when the vehicle starts off the table.

My initial interpretation would be no, you can't.
   
Made in us
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot







My initial reaction would be that you may tank shock onto the board so long as you declare the distance and only travel in a straight line (as required by the tank shock rules).

This is in fact an excellent counter to the exceedingly cheesy kroot counter to all the all-reserve deployment in which the tau player infiltrates kroot so that they string out in a line along the opponent's board edge, thus preventing them from entering from reserve.

6,000
Come to the Nova Open, the best miniature wargaming convention in the East: http://www.novaopen.com/  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Pasadena

Yes, you can. This has been brought up many times in discussions at tournaments and league nights where I play. The idea that the book says you must "aim" is not an issue, you can simply declare the direction and movement distances. I find most of the time that the WAAC players will argue which ever way benefits them at the time. The idea that you can prevent a giant tank from moving onto the board simply by stringing a bunch of kroot with knives and muskets in the way is WAAC nonsense imo.

Las Vegas Open Head Judge
I'm sorry if it hurts your feelings or pride, but your credentials matter. Even on the internet.
"If you do not have the knowledge, you do not have the right to the opinion." -Plato

 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Kolath wrote:
This is in fact an excellent counter to the exceedingly cheesy kroot counter to all the all-reserve deployment in which the tau player infiltrates kroot so that they string out in a line along the opponent's board edge, thus preventing them from entering from reserve.


If you have tanks.....

BTW, this supposedly happened again this year, only it was 40 Genestealers against a no-vehicle all-reserved army...................

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Aspirant Tech-Adept





St. Louis

I think the main question would be is coming in from reserves "normal movement." Tank shock rules say that you may make a tank shock instead of moving normally. So unless coming in from reserves is normal movement I would say no.
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior



Im Here

well, im not sure to be honest. i was at a tournament recently where i played a CSM player. we had DOW deployment, so of course most things were in reserve.

He brought out a rhino on turn 1, and that rhino hit a patch of terrain before comming on the board (because the terrain was about 2" away from the edge). he rolled to make sure it was not immobile for running, and yet loa and behold it was a 1!

no1 at the tournament was sure what to do with the model. Was it destroyed? the judge actually let me make the call since he was my opponet.

i would honestly say that if you can immobilize yourself BEFORE you even get on the board...then i would have to say that you can tank shock BEFORE you get on the board.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/23 19:12:44


3200
2000  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yes, you can.

Even if they make their DoG and immobilize it, it's fine. The rules say you must move ONTO the board, you do not have to move FULLY onto the board. If it did force you to move fully on the board, Monoliths and land Raiders and Baneblades would have a hard time being used in Dawn of War.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior



Im Here

Gwar! wrote:Yes, you can.

Even if they make their DoG and immobilize it, it's fine. The rules say you must move ONTO the board, you do not have to move FULLY onto the board. If it did force you to move fully on the board, Monoliths and land Raiders and Baneblades would have a hard time being used in Dawn of War.


Gwar is totally right. because the monolith is like...7" wide base (all around)....

But this is arguable.

The land raider can be turned sideways. the is no rule on that.

the monolith DOES have a "Base" so as long as the "Base" is on...

but then again, 5th ed does say that all vehicles are measured from the hull

^^

i think it's something you need to discuss with your opponent.

3200
2000  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Pasadena

don_mondo wrote:
Kolath wrote:
This is in fact an excellent counter to the exceedingly cheesy kroot counter to all the all-reserve deployment in which the tau player infiltrates kroot so that they string out in a line along the opponent's board edge, thus preventing them from entering from reserve.


If you have tanks.....

BTW, this supposedly happened again this year, only it was 40 Genestealers against a no-vehicle all-reserved army...................


Why in the world would you reserve out against that army?!

Las Vegas Open Head Judge
I'm sorry if it hurts your feelings or pride, but your credentials matter. Even on the internet.
"If you do not have the knowledge, you do not have the right to the opinion." -Plato

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I wasn't stealers. It was an all Bike White Scars army vs Tau (with Kroot), who in an attempt to try and dick over the tau Player by denying him 2 turns of shooting, ended up autolosing the game.

And here he is:

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/23 20:29:10


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




That was last years ETC, Don was reckoning it had hapened again this year....
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Ooooh. Herp Derp.

Do people not learn?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/312195.page

near the end, marcinB's post

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot





In the Webway.

Yeah that picture is like a part of 40k now almost

And im pretty sure you can tank shock on the board.

"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann

Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':

Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3

Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.

Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Thank you.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: