Switch Theme:

Death or Glory! Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






OK, my tactical squad gets tank shocked by a rhino. I have a lascannon in the tactical squad, so i opt to try and pass leadership and attack. I'm successful and the resultant damage explodes the rhino.

Immediately after this, the same tactical squad is tank shocked again by a different rhino. My question is this:

Can the same model fire again that turn for DOG purposes? I.e. could the lascannon have fired again?

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







liam0404 wrote:OK, my tactical squad gets tank shocked by a rhino. I have a lascannon in the tactical squad, so i opt to try and pass leadership and attack. I'm successful and the resultant damage explodes the rhino.

Immediately after this, the same tactical squad is tank shocked again by a different rhino. My question is this:

Can the same model fire again that turn for DOG purposes? I.e. could the lascannon have fired again?
Yes, they can.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






That's what I thought, but my opponent whipped out his BRB at this point and pointed me to the Death or GLory Section. There's a specific sentence which says "models in the path of the tank". The second tank shock was aimed at my unit such that it wouldn't have passed over the lascannon marine. Does this make a difference?

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Major






far away from Battle Creek, Michigan

liam0404 wrote:That's what I thought, but my opponent whipped out his BRB at this point and pointed me to the Death or GLory Section. There's a specific sentence which says "models in the path of the tank". The second tank shock was aimed at my unit such that it wouldn't have passed over the lascannon marine. Does this make a difference?


Well certainly. If the "model" with the lascannon is not in the path it cannot shoot.

PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.

Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







liam0404 wrote:That's what I thought, but my opponent whipped out his BRB at this point and pointed me to the Death or GLory Section. There's a specific sentence which says "models in the path of the tank". The second tank shock was aimed at my unit such that it wouldn't have passed over the lascannon marine. Does this make a difference?
Well you didn't mention that.

If the lascannon isn't in the path, then he can't shoot it. If he is in the path a 2nd time, he can.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Sorry I should have elaborated.

Before I explain, this is a disclaimer that I AGREE with the fact that only models in the path can fire in the above example.

I wish that there would be some consistency in the way casualties are removed. For example, you're shooting at a unit in cover, but can only see one model. They'll get cover saves, but you can kill as many as are there just by seeing that one model.

Likewise with close combat, casualties can be taken from anywhere in the unit, i.e. a model's attacks on one side of the unit can cause casualties on the other side of the combat (depending on the unit size, e.g. 30 orks, this could be greater than 6 inches in range!).

It's silly that DOG doesn't work in the same way. Logically yes, only models in it's path should be able to shoot - but based on the other "casualty removal" conventions, you'd think it would be similar yes?

Rant over lol.

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No it shouldnt be, as DoG! always has been a very particular thing - only that model dies if it fails DoG, for example.

Shooting and Close combat are unit level abstractions which make heaps of sense, and also happily eliminate the atrocious abuse of range / los sniping from 4th
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Yeah that's also a fair point too.

It doesn't bother me that much to be honest, it was just something I gave a bit of thought to post-game!

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Does this mean if terminators are spread out in a line, with the sarg with sword on the end, I can tank shock him without getting PFd coz the vehicle doesnt pass over the other models with PFs?
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker



Seattle, WA

Jaon wrote:Does this mean if terminators are spread out in a line, with the sarg with sword on the end, I can tank shock him without getting PFd coz the vehicle doesnt pass over the other models with PFs?


yep ... the entire squad tests but only models in the path can DoG.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Vallejo, CA

I agree, you should be able to have any model in the squad be able to attempt DoG, if it wasn't directly run over or not. I don't think it's too much to ask for the dude with the meltabomb to take a step to his left and throw it on the treads, but I guess that's too much to ask for...

Your one-stop website for batreps, articles, and assorted goodies about the men of Folera: Foleran First Imperial Archives. Read Dakka's favorite narrative battle report series The Hand of the King. Also, check out my commission work, and my terrain.

Abstract Principles of 40k: Why game imbalance and list tailoring is good, and why tournaments are an absurd farce.

Read "The Geomides Affair", now on sale! No bolter porn. Not another inquisitor story. A book written by a dakkanought for dakkanoughts!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: