Switch Theme:

Ard Boyz and the missions : quick question regarding Meeting Engagement  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Florida

quick question, one that i really couldnt answer from the rule book.

for meeting engagement, it says you must roll a dice for every unit, character, and warmachine to see if it is reserved.

QUESTION : the grey seer and his bell are one unit, the clanrats that push it are another. If they are rolled for seperately, and one or the other is reserved, how do you play it? The bell cannot move without 10 clanrats to push it, and it cannot join new units if the one it is deployed with is destroyed. If the bell is reserved, it is essentially out of the game, since it cannot move.

How would we play this? should I cound the bell, seer and unit all one choice? or bell seperate from the seer? I am just not sure.

15000 - Tyranids
4000 - Skaven
1500 - Dark Eldar
2500 - Daemons
1500 - Necrons  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

Wow, I don't know- since you can see the missions ahead of time, it might be worthwhile just changing your list. RAW it sounds like you'd roll for them separately, and if one gets put in reserve and the other doesn't, you're hosed... (or at least, you can't move the bell...)
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





i believe you are allowed to put a character with a unit before the battle starts and then roll once for the unit.

as the bell is an upgrade for a seer i assume it would be the same.


but i might be thinking of the first scenario.

i noticed that they fixed the deployment zones but not the draw at 1000 points instead fo 100 points.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/25 14:53:11


 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Florida

I know, RAW, the bell cannot join new units, so if all the clanrat unit are reserved, its just going to be a immoble tower for the grey seer which he CANNOT leave. Whereas, if it gets reserved, it cannot move on at all unless I also reserve a unit of clanrats/stormvermin.

hrm....i love my bell...i dont want to make up an extra 200 points now :(

15000 - Tyranids
4000 - Skaven
1500 - Dark Eldar
2500 - Daemons
1500 - Necrons  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





read the reserves general rule.

characters that can join units can do so before the battle then a single dice is rolled for the whole unit.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

How about THIS question - not to derail the current thread, but not to start another 'ard boyz mission thread....

A win of 100 VPs more than your opponent is a minor victory. 1000 is a Major.

Yet a draw is earned if the difference in VPs is 1000 points or less.

Bwah?

And a Massacre is scored if you have double the VPs of your opponent. So if I kill your 250 point giant and you kill one of my units of chaos warriors with hero [500ish], you massacre me even though the rest of the armies are still intact. In fact the difference in our VPs is only 250, yet you scored twice as many as me.....huh!?

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Florida

I think that is a case of a misprint...one too many zeroes.

Thanks for the clarification on the bell...i was flummoxed on that one!

15000 - Tyranids
4000 - Skaven
1500 - Dark Eldar
2500 - Daemons
1500 - Necrons  
   
Made in us
Stoic Grail Knight



Houston, Texas

Pretty sure that is a typo.

Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins-  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Spellbound wrote:How about THIS question - not to derail the current thread, but not to start another 'ard boyz mission thread....

A win of 100 VPs more than your opponent is a minor victory. 1000 is a Major.

Yet a draw is earned if the difference in VPs is 1000 points or less.

Bwah?

And a Massacre is scored if you have double the VPs of your opponent. So if I kill your 250 point giant and you kill one of my units of chaos warriors with hero [500ish], you massacre me even though the rest of the armies are still intact. In fact the difference in our VPs is only 250, yet you scored twice as many as me.....huh!?


i'm assuming that the 1000 is supposed to be 100 and is a typo. if that is true then everything else works nicely.

also if you were on the download as soon as they put it up you would know that all the deployments were wrong and over night they fixed them.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Houston, TX

I'd recommend reading the paragraph again on what units "can" be deployed.

Nothing in that mission says that you "must" deploy units, only that anything that isn't forced to be held in reserve "can" be deployed.

If your bell is forced to reserve, just choose to reserve your clanrats as well and bring them on together.

No matter how powerful the wizard, a dagger between his shoulder blades will really cramp his style --Steven Brust.

 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

Spellbound wrote:And a Massacre is scored if you have double the VPs of your opponent. So if I kill your 250 point giant and you kill one of my units of chaos warriors with hero [500ish], you massacre me even though the rest of the armies are still intact. In fact the difference in our VPs is only 250, yet you scored twice as many as me.....huh!?

I agree about the typo on the draw, but is this right? Can you get a masscre by doubling the VPs, even if it's less than what's required for a major victory?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yea, the massacre item is correct. But c'mon, are you really going to lose less than 500 points in a 3k battle? If you do, you probably massacred.

My rules query is still concerning when you get the point for horde - is it checked throughout the battle or only at the end.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Here's another issue. What if I roll a 1 for my priest and casket of souls? Have i just lost 400 points? I would argue very strongly that I could simply place it at the edge of the table when it's available to come in. (obviously the casket has to get to the battle somehow, they don't just have them sitting there). If my opponent wouldn't let me, then I'd probably say I was keeping it in reserve the whole game (thus you can't kill my heirophant?).
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

Alright, but you can still get a massacre without clearing the Major Victory threshhold, no?

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Killjoy00 wrote:Yea, the massacre item is correct. But c'mon, are you really going to lose less than 500 points in a 3k battle? If you do, you probably massacred.

My rules query is still concerning when you get the point for horde - is it checked throughout the battle or only at the end.


yea good point as a horde is not a fixed value, someone with a 10 man unit could deploy it 10 wide on the last turn saying he has a horde.

i would think the answer is :
at the begining of the game he declares units to be horde/not horde. then you determine at the end fo the game if one of the horde units is dead.

or units deployed as horde count as horde, units not deployed as horde never count.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/25 15:44:53


 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

Units don't move on from the board edge anymore when they come from reserves, check it out.

First, put the unit on the board with its back against the board.

THEN you're allowed to move it - thus if it's an immobile unit, you just stop there. You no longer walk onto the board.

That being said, theoretically if you had a horde unit that was 2 wide by say 100 deep, you could deploy with your rear at the edge, extend across the whole table, then reform to be anywhere you wanted instantly. And if you had a musician you'd have some movement left over!

Odd...


Automatically Appended Next Post:
lixulana wrote:
Killjoy00 wrote:Yea, the massacre item is correct. But c'mon, are you really going to lose less than 500 points in a 3k battle? If you do, you probably massacred.

My rules query is still concerning when you get the point for horde - is it checked throughout the battle or only at the end.


yea good point as a horde is not a fixed value, someone with a 10 man unit could deploy it 10 wide on the last turn saying he has a horde.

i would think the answer is :
at the begining of the game he declares units to be horde/not horde. then you determine at the end fo the game if one of the horde units is dead.



Aw damn, I was totally going to reform a unit on the last turn into a horde formation. D'oh!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/25 15:44:56


40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Spellbound wrote:Units don't move on from the board edge anymore when they come from reserves, check it out.

First, put the unit on the board with its back against the board.

THEN you're allowed to move it - thus if it's an immobile unit, you just stop there. You no longer walk onto the board.

That being said, theoretically if you had a horde unit that was 2 wide by say 100 deep, you could deploy with your rear at the edge, extend across the whole table, then reform to be anywhere you wanted instantly. And if you had a musician you'd have some movement left over!

Odd...


Automatically Appended Next Post:
lixulana wrote:
Killjoy00 wrote:Yea, the massacre item is correct. But c'mon, are you really going to lose less than 500 points in a 3k battle? If you do, you probably massacred.

My rules query is still concerning when you get the point for horde - is it checked throughout the battle or only at the end.


yea good point as a horde is not a fixed value, someone with a 10 man unit could deploy it 10 wide on the last turn saying he has a horde.

i would think the answer is :
at the begining of the game he declares units to be horde/not horde. then you determine at the end fo the game if one of the horde units is dead.



Aw damn, I was totally going to reform a unit on the last turn into a horde formation. D'oh!


thanks i hadnt thought of that i will have to deploy my unit 5x10 instead of 10x5 then reform for the bonus movement :-)
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Spellbound wrote:Units don't move on from the board edge anymore when they come from reserves, check it out.

First, put the unit on the board with its back against the board.

THEN you're allowed to move it - thus if it's an immobile unit, you just stop there. You no longer walk onto the board.

That being said, theoretically if you had a horde unit that was 2 wide by say 100 deep, you could deploy with your rear at the edge, extend across the whole table, then reform to be anywhere you wanted instantly. And if you had a musician you'd have some movement left over!

Odd...


Well no the errata in the BRB FAQ says you'r formation can't take you deeper than twice your movement rate.

Edit: Not only that but the reform rules forbid a model from moving more than twice its allowance as well, making you magic/portal reform impossible.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/08/25 15:55:10



Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Florida

To answer the Casket question, the same rule that helped me helps you. It states that unit that cannot move "..certain altars and warmachines.." are placed touching the table edge when deploying from reserves.

15000 - Tyranids
4000 - Skaven
1500 - Dark Eldar
2500 - Daemons
1500 - Necrons  
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: