Switch Theme:

Fast Tanks/ Skimmers and Cover Saves.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Inspiring Icon Bearer






Can I move a Eldar Waveserpent forward 3( or 4) inches and then back 4( or 3) inches to gain a 4+ cover save?



Age of Sigmar, New World Tournament Ruleset


[centerPlease feel free to pop in and comment, or send me a PM![/center]



 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

I'm pretty sure no, the vehicle distanced is measured from to hull start position to hull end position. No running circles or doubling back for cover saves...I have been wrong before but I think that's the case

*edited for clarity

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/25 15:57:54


My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Dogfighter




Garden Grove, CA

It is. And you have to had moved 24" to claim a cover save for just moving.

"Do not practice until you get it right, practice until you can not get it wrong." In other words, stop effing up.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

A skimmer only has to move over 12" (flat out) to get a cover save. Page 71, main rules

And this is on page 63, question is whether or not it also applies to shooting/cover saves.
Note: when assessing how far a vehicle has moved, only take into account the actual distance covered from its original position. Moving backwards and forwards or driving around in circles does not help!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/25 16:09:03


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Legendary Dogfighter




Garden Grove, CA

Heh, I always thought it was 24, thanks.

"Do not practice until you get it right, practice until you can not get it wrong." In other words, stop effing up.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Yes, you only need to move over 12" to claim a 4+ cover on a Serpent. Now if you can move in a circle or move forward backward is contestable since there is nothing stating you can't and only a note about movement and shooting that suggests otherwise. While it may be possible to claim it'll be looked at as a tFG move and in a tourney likely go to a judge's call potentially screwing you.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in ca
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker



Grande Prairie , Alberta , Canada

are you sure there isn't a rule about the distance from where the hull started and where it finishes? I'm almost sure that there is a specific rule about this very situation where it says you can't do it. and of course as everyone has mentioned you have to move 12" to get the flat out cover save.

paint your minis. It adds an extra layer of bullet protection!! well .....  
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

I think this was addressed : You can't use the act of moving in circles /forward&backward. You need to actually move some distance form your original position to count as having moved. Pivoting doesn't count for moving (unless immobilized) but the hull must be measured from point A to point B. Not A to B and A again.

My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

The distance moved bit is part of the assaulting a vehicle rules. I posted the exact quote in my earlier post. And like I said, the question is whether or not this also applies to the vehicle being shot at.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

BlueDagger wrote:Yes, you only need to move over 12" to claim a 4+ cover on a Serpent. Now if you can move in a circle or move forward backward is contestable since there is nothing stating you can't and only a note about movement and shooting that suggests otherwise. While it may be possible to claim it'll be looked at as a tFG move and in a tourney likely go to a judge's call potentially screwing you.


Badandy wrote:are you sure there isn't a rule about the distance from where the hull started and where it finishes? I'm almost sure that there is a specific rule about this very situation where it says you can't do it. and of course as everyone has mentioned you have to move 12" to get the flat out cover save.

Guys.

Read don_mondo's first post.

He quote the rule that explicitly says you can't move forwards and backwards or in a circle and claim the cover save.

Pay attention, please. Threads do not revolve around your posts alone!

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

SaintHazard wrote:
BlueDagger wrote:Yes, you only need to move over 12" to claim a 4+ cover on a Serpent. Now if you can move in a circle or move forward backward is contestable since there is nothing stating you can't and only a note about movement and shooting that suggests otherwise. While it may be possible to claim it'll be looked at as a tFG move and in a tourney likely go to a judge's call potentially screwing you.


Badandy wrote:are you sure there isn't a rule about the distance from where the hull started and where it finishes? I'm almost sure that there is a specific rule about this very situation where it says you can't do it. and of course as everyone has mentioned you have to move 12" to get the flat out cover save.

Guys.

Read don_mondo's first post.

He quote the rule that explicitly says you can't move forwards and backwards or in a circle and claim the cover save.

Pay attention, please. Threads do not revolve around your posts alone!


Please read the rulebook. That quote pertains to shooting and does not necessarily apply to cover save distance, as mondo even stated. There is no statement that says a vehicle must be over 12" from it's starting point to claim the cover save as that wording is only in the turbo boost rules.

Like I said it would come to a judge's call in a tournie setting and is viewed as a TFG move.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

No, that's the problem. It doesn't explicictly say that and I didn't say it does. What it says is that if a vehicle is being assaulted, then you use actual distance moved to determine what is needed to hit the vehicle in the assault. Whether or not that rule transfers over to shooting is not stated. Note taht in both of my previous posts I mention that the question is whether or not this applies to shooting.

IMO, yes, I think it does. But that is opinion.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Oh, well, in that case I stand corrected.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

Ok, let me try this. When shooting a vehicle, to get a cover save it needs to satisfy some condition. Usually it's the obscure rule. In the case of a moving fast save, you have to move x inches. I'd like to try using the rules concerning moving a vehicle being measured from hull to hull.
ex 1 Start......End (six dots six inches)
ex 2 Start...forward (up 3)
End...Back (back 2)

Measuring from the same hull point shows a movement of 0 inches. I'm thinking plain terrain, just going straight. This gets messed up if your trying to avoid difficult/dangerous terrain and zig zagging though

*edit for clarity

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/25 19:53:59


My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

mrwhoop wrote:Ok, let me try this. When shooting a vehicle, to get a cover save it needs to satisfy some condition. Usually it's the obscure rule. In the case of a moving fast save, you have to move x inches. I'd like to try using the rules concerning moving a vehicle being measured from hull to hull.
ex 1 Start......End (six dots six inches)
ex 2 Start...forward (up 3)
End...Back (back 2)

Measuring from the same hull point shows a movement of 0 inches. I'm thinking plain terrain, just going straight. This gets messed up if your trying to avoid difficult/dangerous terrain and zig zagging though

*edit for clarity


Not sure what you were going for here, but no there is nothing that states that to claim a bonus you must end up over 12" away from the starting point hull to hull. The cover save for fast skimmers mere states that you must move 12" and it is not stated anywhere that that movement can not be in a circle landing at the original point or that you can't move forward and backward adding up to over 12". It is just an assumed fact, that most will agree with, based off the passage mentioned above and the turbo-boost rules.

Most people get the fast skimmer cover rules confused with the turbo-boost USR rules that specifically state you must be x number of inches from your starting point.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/25 21:09:02


Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

To clarify I'm going even further back to Movement. You measure movement from base to base on the figures and hull to hull on vehicles. The book's not on me but I was thinking that the rules for movement require you measure distance. If you move back to your starting point you haven't really moved. Specifically I'm thinking the page with the diagram that shows you don't measure from the front of the hull and place the model in front of the inches moved.

I thought there was something there and when I get ahold of my book I'll try and find what page/entry I'm thinking of.

My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Correct but this differs with vechiles ans you move a vehicle straight forward then pivot any number of times along the path. so if you move forward 4" turn 90 degrees and repeat till you end up in the same location you have indeed moved 16" though you are no further then your starting difference.

This differs from infantry when you measure x number of inches out and place the model at it's new location. The reason you see most people just place the vehicle in the new location is because it is tedious and time consuming to vroom your vehicle across the board.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Unfortunately, RAW says that you can move forwards 6.1" and back 6.1" and qualify for a flat-out cover save.

However, as per the note in Rolling to hit against vehicles on P63 the vehicle would count as stationary for purposes of being assaulted.

This is definitely not how I'd play it.
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

Ok I was combining two pages...pg 12 has the 'proper way' to measure the distance picture I was thinking about and on pg 71 Measuring Distances talks about "As normal for vehicles, distances are measured to and from the skimmer's hull..."

My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in us
Inspiring Icon Bearer





Asking the questions in reference to moving forward and back was to keep it simple. Like all things, there's a way to make it murky and a way to keep it clear.

So again, moving forward 6 and back 7 (or vice versa ) doesnt seem to prevent me from being assaulted as a standstill, but does allot a 4+ coversave, since we couldn't find a rule elsewhere that stated otherwise?

It's a odd situation anyways unless you have troops objective camping, as not often will a skimmer move fast enough to not allow primary weapons so it can fire a Str 4 S-Cat with a sorry range.



Age of Sigmar, New World Tournament Ruleset


[centerPlease feel free to pop in and comment, or send me a PM![/center]



 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

Vehicles are allowed to turn any number of times they want, with no limitations to it's total allowed movement distance, "just like normal models". I fail to find anything which states that moving back again has any effects on the speed at which the tank moves.

For instance, imagine a tank rounding a wide boulder. The path around it is 17", but a skimmer could move across it in mere 6" move (normal vehicle and a skimmer has exactly the same rules for measuring distance when moving). If the rules did say you had to measure from point A to point B, then the tank would move 17" and still be allowed to shoot all weapons.

You could make a house rule, of course, which said "you have to move the shortest distance possible, unless this would needlessly put your vehicle in danger", but that's not something I can find in the rules.

The assault lines may simply be the reasoning that the vehicle wouldn't be zooming past at high speed, but you'd get several chances to get it right, so to speak. Or it might just be GW's way of limiting abuse of the turning rules. Keep in mind that moving flat out has drawbacks, especially if it's a skimmer!

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

While RAW does not really say one way or another, I would play it under the same rules for assaulting on P.63 under rolling to hit against vehicles: "Note when assessing how far a vehicle has moved, only take into account the actual distance covered from the original position. moving backwards and forwards or driving around in circles does not help"

thats my take on it.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider






Da Qing, North East China

i'm really surprised Gwar hasnt stepped in? This is something i'm still curious about and dont quite get

John 3:16 For God so loved the world.
The Reborn 3000pts W/0 L/3 D/0
Kabal of the Frozen Blade 1500+pts W/6 L/10 D/1

============
DR:80S+G+M+B++IPw40k09+D+A++/eWD248R+++T(S)DM+
============ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







kanelom wrote:i'm really surprised Gwar hasnt stepped in? This is something i'm still curious about and dont quite get
I try and avoid questions when they have been answered correctly already.

As Don_mondo pointed out, you can technically go 6" forwards then 6.1" back to claim a cover save (though you would be hit on a 4+ in an assault).

Is it "fair"? Who knows, but the rules are pretty solid imo.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: