| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 18:02:24
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun
|
Hi all,
The other day I had a game vs Blood Angels and this situation rose up:
My idea was to do this:
But p.34 BRB states that you have to move to the closest enemy... so he would only accept this:
So re-reading p.34 now, I found that I HAVE to engaged base to base if possible, so "conga" wouldn't be possible... and if conga is not possible, I would lose coherency so... I couldn't engage both vehicles.
Question is, could I go from here:
To here?
Yes/no and why (page if possible).
Thanks!
|
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2010/08/27 18:15:30
In the grim dark present, there is only REVENUE! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 18:03:10
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Your Images are broken.
You need to put the "Direct Link" inside the Image tags.
But to answer your Question, the rule is you must get into BTB with the model if possible. So your last picture is in fact, legal. You just have to remember to move the closest to closest model first, then after that keep coherency with the rest while moving them into Base to Base.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/27 18:06:09
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 18:05:07
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun
|
Direct link? So no img before and after the photobucket URL?
|
In the grim dark present, there is only REVENUE! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 18:05:22
Subject: Re:Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
It's funny. This is like visual Mad Libs.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 18:07:32
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Tanhausen wrote:Direct link? So no img before and after the photobucket URL?
Sorry, what I mean is if you go to the link you put inside the img tags, you will see a box on the left with 4 URLs. You want to use the bottom link with the IMG tags already added in, like so (or the 2nd url and add the Img tags manually, it's up to you):
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/27 18:08:27
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 18:16:39
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun
|
@Gwar!
Thanks
|
In the grim dark present, there is only REVENUE! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 18:18:37
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
No problem. I hope my post cleared things up for you. If not, shout angrily at me and I will do my best to help gooder. xD
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 18:27:09
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun
|
No need to shout angrily now...only clarify my rules question
|
In the grim dark present, there is only REVENUE! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 18:40:38
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Gwar! wrote:But to answer your Question, the rule is you must get into BTB with the model if possible. So your last picture is in fact, legal. You just have to remember to move the closest to closest model first, then after that keep coherency with the rest while moving them into Base to Base.
Anything still missing?
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 18:46:17
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Tanhausen wrote: *snipped*
Well, first thing's first - you can declare your assault against either. You don't have to declare it to the closest enemy, just to an enemy model.
Secondly, your final example is possible yes. The reasons are all on page 34, but I will try to paraphrase.
The rules of multi-assaulting are:
Choose a unit, and an enemy unit. The closest model from your unit must move through the shortest possible route to get to the enemy. So, you declare assault against the tank on the left, moving the closest model to touch it.
Now, if you find that you can assault other units, you can as long as:
- Come into base contact with an unengaged enemy model. The tank to the right
- If you can't reach that one, you must assault a model already in base contact. If you couldn't reach the tank to the right, you'd have to assault the tank to the left, but it doesn't apply in the last picture
- If you can't reach either, then you must try to move to within 2" of one of your based models.
- If that is not possible, stay in coherency.
So, in your situation, you declare assault to the tank on the left, assault with the closest terminator, then, finishing your assault move 2" away from your first terminator, you engage an unengaged enemy (the right tank) and finally, the third terminator engages either enemy, so long as he can reach one of them.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 19:01:41
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun
|
So the first assault target is relevant...if for example I assaulted the vindicator (top), all the terminators would have to charge him since its the closest enemy...
Thanks for the help!
|
In the grim dark present, there is only REVENUE! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 19:04:03
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Tanhausen wrote:So the first assault target is relevant...if for example I assaulted the vindicator (top), all the terminators would have to charge him since its the closest enemy...
Thanks for the help!
No, that's not true at all. You can assault the tank on the left as much as you want, so long as you follow the assault rules. The only model FORCED to assault the Target unit is the first model moved.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 19:30:32
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Tanhausen wrote:So the first assault target is relevant...if for example I assaulted the vindicator (top), all the terminators would have to charge him since its the closest enemy...
Thanks for the help!
No. Just the first model. Closest to closest from enemy to target. Then, follow the rules above (or on page 34).
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 13:57:27
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
I have a follow-up question on this matter. It does involve assulting vehicles, but not with terminators as in this case.
Assumption: 2 vehicles standing close together, say 2 Russes. A Tervigon (or other model on a oval shaped base assults one of them and the shortest way to the vehicle end up at the corner of the vehicle. Am I allowed to turn the Tervigon (pivot on the spot) to get in base contact with the other Leman Russ, which means that I assult both Russes with the Tervigon?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 14:17:40
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, it is not possible for a single model to assault two different units (when making an assault move)
See the rules for multiple assaults - you may ONLY get in btb with the initial, target unit when moving the first model (closest to closest), *subsequent* models may assault another unit, howver in single model units that isnt an issue....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/31 06:39:17
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
This issue come up almost every time I play a new person - everytime.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/31 06:45:18
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Legendary Dogfighter
Garden Grove, CA
|
ChrisCP wrote:This issue come up almost every time I play a new person - everytime.
It is a confusing rule though.
|
"Do not practice until you get it right, practice until you can not get it wrong." In other words, stop effing up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/31 08:05:12
Subject: Assaulting 2 vehicles
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Not really.
"and may not move into base contact
with enemy models from a unit they are not assaulting"
followed by instructions which say
"As usual the closest attacking model must be moved to contact the closest model in the enemy unit against which the assault was declared. Then remaining models can assault models belonging to other enemy units"
And to be cynical, as it's almost always happening with Canis or TMC and when I look at the guy and say
'What?' very puzzled voice 'Can you show me where?' they fold like a cheap umbrella in a hurricane.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|