Switch Theme:

Power of the machine spirit.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





I was just wondering if you could do something like this:

My idea was if you have land raider crusader, and a trukk loaded with boys, could you use power of the machine spirit to pop the transport with the multimelta atop the land raider, then mow down the occupants with the hurricane bolters and Tl assault cannon? I never thought of it, and never hear of anyone doing it, but the multimelta can (due to potms) technically target a different unit. But the problem arises when someone argues all shooting is done at the same time. Someone please help me

I posted this over in tactics too, where it became undecided, so brought it here.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Jaon wrote:I was just wondering if you could do something like this:

My idea was if you have land raider crusader, and a trukk loaded with boys, could you use power of the machine spirit to pop the transport with the multimelta atop the land raider, then mow down the occupants with the hurricane bolters and Tl assault cannon? I never thought of it, and never hear of anyone doing it, but the multimelta can (due to potms) technically target a different unit. But the problem arises when someone argues all shooting is done at the same time. Someone please help me

I posted this over in tactics too, where it became undecided, so brought it here.
No.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

It would be spelled out in the rules for Destroying vehicles on page 67 in your BRB.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine





Manhattan, Ks

For the rule to work you first pop the transport with the melta then you can target the squad inside with one weapon only from using power of the machine spirit.

"Decadence Unbound..."

10,000+


 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

Riddick40k wrote:For the rule to work you first pop the transport with the melta then you can target the squad inside with one weapon only from using power of the machine spirit.


No, I don't think so. POTMS doesn't override the fact that a unit fires all of it's weapons at once.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Riddick40k wrote:For the rule to work you first pop the transport with the melta then you can target the squad inside with one weapon only from using power of the machine spirit.
What?

No, that's not how it works at all. You have to declare ALL your target before doing any shooting. That includes if you target of another unit with PotMS. You cannot shoot at the disembarked passengers because it was not a legal unit to target at the time you declared your targeting. What you can do is destroy the trukk with, say, a devastator squad and THEN unload into the boyz with the Land Raider.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

There doesn't look to be an absolute RAW answer to this.

That said, the fluff (which is not rules) says POTMS allows the crew to fire with incredible accuracy.

Fluff aside, POTMS allows the Land Raider to fire one more weapon than would be allowed. It can be fired at a different unit.

Though it doesn't specifically say it, it looks as if this additional weapon firing would be done at the same time as the other weapons on the Land Raider, so I would say that you couldn't fire the MM at a transport and then use POTMS to fire at the passengers.

There is also the rule on page 67 that reminds us that all models in a single unit fire simultaneously, but whether this would apply to this situation is unclear because normally all members of a unit must fire at the same target but POTMS allows you to choose different targets.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

time wizard wrote:There doesn't look to be an absolute RAW answer to this.
Yes there is--you cannot target embarked units.
Since a unit's firing occurs simultaneously, PoTMS cannot target units embarked before the vehicle fires.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine





Manhattan, Ks

It states it can be fired at a different target, doesnt say anything about it having to shoot all its weapons at once

"Decadence Unbound..."

10,000+


 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

Riddick40k wrote:It states it can be fired at a different target, doesnt say anything about it having to shoot all its weapons at once


The shooting rules do illustrate this though. The Land Raider has to declare all of it's targets at once, the POTMS only dictates how many weapons and or what those weapons are shooting at.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Riddick40k wrote:It states it can be fired at a different target, doesnt say anything about it having to shoot all its weapons at once


The rules for units shooting states all shots occur at once. For PotMS to work differently you have to have an explicit rule to override this.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






time wizard wrote:There doesn't look to be an absolute RAW answer to this.

Yes there is.
time wizard wrote:Though it doesn't specifically say it, it looks as if this additional weapon firing would be done at the same time as the other weapons on the Land Raider

It doesn't need to specifically say it, it already says that all a unit's weapons are fired simultaneously. It would need to specifically say that this was not the case for the PotMS.
   
Made in gb
Swift Swooping Hawk






Normally... RAW (without POTMS)

A Vehicle must fire all of its weapons (that it is able to fire and that it chooses to fire) at the same target.
All of these weapons must fire at the same time.

POTMS added in...

A Land raider must fire all of its weapons (that it is able to fire and that it chooses to fire) at the same target, in addition, one weapon may be chosen to target a seperate unit (with added bonuses regarding stunned, etc)
All of these weapons must fire at the same time.

----------

You have permission to target a seperate unit, and fire an additional weapon under certain circumstances.
But permission is not given to fire at seperate times, you must still follow the rules.

WLD: 221 / 6 / 5

5 Dragons 2011: 2nd Overall

DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k96++D++A++/mR+++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Thanks for the help guys, cleared this up for me.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: