| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/28 18:18:01
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
University of St. Andrews
|
Now a thought just occured to me. Say you have a Banewolf equipped with a multimelta. There is an enemy tank Say 12" away from the multimelta so you fire it at the tank and resolve normally. However, in between you and the tank there is a squad of infantry standing there within template range. Announcing that you are also firing the chem cannon at the tank, you lay down the flame template to discover that oh noes the tank is not covered by the template, BUT the squad of infantry is. Would you then resolve the template weapon attack against the squad of infantry since template weapons auto-hit whatever they cover? Or would you ignore it as all shots that are fired at targets that are out of range automatically miss?
|
"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor
707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)
Visit my nation on Nation States!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/28 18:25:19
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Legendary Dogfighter
Garden Grove, CA
|
That is a very good question... I know that you can do that if the tank is within template range, but I don't know about this scenario.
Subscribed, I must know...
|
"Do not practice until you get it right, practice until you can not get it wrong." In other words, stop effing up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/28 18:32:16
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
If a target is out of range, the weapon does not fire.
Or at the least it is an auto miss. If the template does not reach the target, the template is not used.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/28 18:36:37
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
How it works is like this. You can fire the Template, but if it does not reach the target, it automatically misses. If it DID reach the target, it would hit the unit in-between. So basically: MOST HOLY™ BANEWOLF©™ ---3"---Toasty Xenos----9"-----Xenos Tank results in the flamer missing, but: MOST HOLY™ BANEWOLF©™ ---3"---Toasty Xenos----2"-----Xenos Tank results in toasted Xenos scum, even if the template weapon could not possibly harm the foul Xenos Tank.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/08/28 18:39:29
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/28 18:41:56
Subject: Re:Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
University of St. Andrews
|
Alright then. That answers my question. Thanks everyone. But for the record it'd be TOXIC PILES OF FORMER XENOS SLUDGE instead of toasty ones.
|
"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor
707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)
Visit my nation on Nation States!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/28 18:48:07
Subject: Re:Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
You would have to cover your target (the enemy tank) with as much of the template as possible. Template Weapons are on p29.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/28 22:01:17
Subject: Re:Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Storm Guard
Minnesota
|
Can you still fire the template weapon and hit an intervening unit if the target vehicle is too high AV to be damaged by the template?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/28 22:02:23
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Yes. There is no requirement for the weapon to be able to damage its target in order to hit it.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/29 09:42:43
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Sniping Gŭiláng
|
ok, so another one. Let's say that template covers to squads. Then I want to add some HB dakka. So... which one is initial target (since every weapon on tank must fire at the same unit)?
|
"Any problem caused by a tank, can be solved by a tank." - Peter Griffin
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/29 09:48:20
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Legendary Dogfighter
Garden Grove, CA
|
You have to declare it beforehand.
|
"Do not practice until you get it right, practice until you can not get it wrong." In other words, stop effing up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/29 09:55:48
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The one you declare to be the target. Firing a template weapon does not exempt you from the initial step of shooting, which is to declare your target.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/29 10:07:23
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Sniping Gŭiláng
|
Hm, fair enough
|
"Any problem caused by a tank, can be solved by a tank." - Peter Griffin
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 00:58:51
Subject: Re:Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
Yes; declare a target, and then place your template to cover as many models/as much of that target as you can. Any other unit you happen to hit is an extra bonus.
Your other non-template pewpew will be at that first target.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 03:24:02
Subject: Re:Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Wicked Ghast
|
I had a command squad fire its flamers and some of my guard squad on the other side of said target were touched by the flamer. I took my wounds its not the same but if a flamer touches something even if its not the target it should count.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 03:28:11
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Legendary Dogfighter
Garden Grove, CA
|
Uhm, the rules for templates say you have to cover as much of the enemy without hitting your own.
|
"Do not practice until you get it right, practice until you can not get it wrong." In other words, stop effing up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 03:42:41
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
That's correct. If you can't hit the enemy without hitting yourself, you can't hit anything. I recently had a SW player think he was awfully clever fencing in some of my Orks with Rhinos and trying to flame me.
"Gee, I dunno how you're gonna do that!"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 04:13:09
Subject: Re:Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Wicked Ghast
|
Did not know that not like it happens often but figured it was like the blast marker if it scatters on your own they take hits my bad
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 04:18:36
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Legendary Dogfighter
Garden Grove, CA
|
I believe that when blast markers scatter on your own you take wounds from yourself, I think.
Anyway, the thing is you can not INTENTIONALLY target yourself.
|
"Do not practice until you get it right, practice until you can not get it wrong." In other words, stop effing up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 04:24:20
Subject: Template Weapon Targetting Question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Arctik_Firangi wrote:That's correct. If you can't hit the enemy without hitting yourself, you can't hit anything. I recently had a SW player think he was awfully clever fencing in some of my Orks with Rhinos and trying to flame me. "Gee, I dunno how you're gonna do that!"
I see what you did there. You are a bad man! On Reflection, what I saw was wrong. It's 430 am, and I need to sleep. D: You are still a bad man! And to clarify, no, you cannot place the Template to touch ANYTHING of yours, even if it causes you to hit less models. If it means you cannot hit any models without hitting your own, then you cannot hit any enemy models, so be careful with the flamer placement.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/30 04:25:08
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|