| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/29 05:40:27
Subject: Meeting Line q
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Or whatever the mission where you deploy 12 inches away in the crossing line.
It says roll a 1 for each unit and char. I swear I saw a discussion about how you can decide to reserve additional units even if they don't roll a 1. Anyone remember that discussion? Alternately, what are your views on whether you can? I mean, otherwise, a screaming bell can be screwed if its unit doesn't come in, right?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/29 10:18:03
Subject: Meeting Line q
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nothing states you have to deploy all your units, you can use the reserves rule - so if you have a unit that needs a char in it you can reserve the char if the unit is forced into reserve, etc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/29 18:35:32
Subject: Meeting Line q
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yea but their argument was nothing gives you permission to put anything in reserve. Not deploying a unit is fine, but it doesn't necessarily become a reserve. As you often point out, you have to have permission to do it, not a lack of prohibition against it.
Where is the permission to reserve?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/29 19:13:16
Subject: Meeting Line q
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Because the Reserves rule states you can use Reserves? It is a special rule for the mission.
It is only those that roll a "1" that MUST be placed in reserves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 00:24:16
Subject: Meeting Line q
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
We looked at the reserves rule - nowhere does it say you can place a unit in reserve voluntarily.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 06:39:33
Subject: Meeting Line q
|
 |
Deadly Tomb Guard
In ur gaem, killin ur doodz.
|
Wait, what if a unit that has no M value is held off the board (anvil) what if a unit that is split from its controller it's destroyed? (caskett of souls)
One would think that there would have to be permissions given for that unit.
|
8th ed Khemri in 8-4-0 Malleus wrote:The swordsmen will tar pit nearly anything nearly forever (definitely long enough for the old tank in the flank prank).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 09:29:51
Subject: Meeting Line q
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The reserves rule states that units CAN be held in reserve. The CAN gives permission to place objects in reserve.
Items that cant move are placed with their back edge touching the back of the board, same as any unit coming onto the board. This is not 40k, so units dont "start just off" and move on.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 12:58:42
Subject: Re:Meeting Line q
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Provo, UT
|
I have a question about reserves in a similar vein. I looked on the forums and couldn't find anything so forgive me if it's been mentioned.
When you bring reserves on is that considered their movement for the turn, or can they then make a normal move? I don't have my book on me right now, but I remember something about them not being able to march or whatever, but that they can function normally after they come on. I think reserves are part of the remaining moves phase, which is where normal movement is as well. So, I was thinking that reserves took the place of moving.
What do you all think?
DarkAngelHopeful
|
"If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face--forever." -1984, pg.267
I think George Orwell was unknowingly describing 40K.
Armies - Highelves, Dwarves |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 13:18:29
Subject: Re:Meeting Line q
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
When you come from reserves that is you'r remaining moves for the turn.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 13:36:27
Subject: Meeting Line q
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above - you can be placed anywhere as long as no model moves more than double it's movement characteristic. For models with no "M" then they are just plced with their bck edge touching the edge of the board.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 13:42:12
Subject: Re:Meeting Line q
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Provo, UT
|
Well, that's what I originally thought. That being placed on the board was their movement for the turn. But it was argued on another forum that they could then move about after being placed. So, I wanted a second opinion from Dakka.
|
"If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face--forever." -1984, pg.267
I think George Orwell was unknowingly describing 40K.
Armies - Highelves, Dwarves |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 14:42:26
Subject: Meeting Line q
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Well the way things are worded it seems that the unit can indeed move, but not march, after they arrive. That and charging are the only things written as forbidden, and then it says they participate normally so yea, deploy twice your M in, (cuz of FAQ) and then move, M again, for a 3xM of movement in a single turn. Nicely done GW
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/30 14:45:28
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 23:10:19
Subject: Meeting Line q
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
True... but most units would need to be in a pretty deep formation to get move x 3 on to the board.
|
βIt was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.β
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/31 04:31:40
Subject: Re:Meeting Line q
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Provo, UT
|
I sent an email to GW customer service on this one. I can see arguments for and against not being able to move once they are placed.
|
"If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face--forever." -1984, pg.267
I think George Orwell was unknowingly describing 40K.
Armies - Highelves, Dwarves |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/31 04:45:05
Subject: Meeting Line q
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Sigh why do people insist tha a randon mook answering E-mails knows anything about the rules, does he write them β i think not.
You might as well go ask someone who works at a GW store, havong tha company name on you'r shirt dosent really give you any authority
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/31 04:46:43
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/31 05:24:54
Subject: Meeting Line q
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Where does the reserves rule say you "can" hold them in reserve? It doesn't say that at all. It says reserves are not deployed and they can enter in play later. But nothing gives you permission to put the unit in reserve.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/31 05:41:01
Subject: Re:Meeting Line q
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Provo, UT
|
My interpretation of this scenario is that you only reserve the units that you rolled a 1 for. All others are deployed as normal.
|
"If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face--forever." -1984, pg.267
I think George Orwell was unknowingly describing 40K.
Armies - Highelves, Dwarves |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|