Switch Theme:

war machine/waagh/forest  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




So I know that there is some confusion about the appropriate way to handle the Waaagh spell for orcs and goblins, as it interacts with war machines. But today at ard boys, we agreed that it would make the war machine move forward. However, he deployed most of them in a forest and said therefore they can't move at all so it wouldn't affect them at all.

Thoughts?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/29 05:57:35


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Southern California

hes bsing you every unit has to move foward on the Waggh spell no matter what, woods dont impede him, he just didnt want to give up his warmachines
   
Made in au
Orc Bully with a Peg Leg





Sydney, Australia

I was wondering about this too actually.

I've only done a quick search to try find an answer; but since now according to the BRB War Machine crew are for all intents and purposes inseparable from their war machine does this mean on a Waaagh! spell do you;

a) Move the machine forward?

b) War Machine is destroyed?

I'm hoping it isn't the latter, but shrug, what choice do you have? Rules are rules.

All things Eldar
http://ateldar.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I would play it that the crew seperate and move forward. It makes sense to me - they still count as the warmachiens wounds, so would kil the warmchine if they die.
   
Made in au
Orc Bully with a Peg Leg





Sydney, Australia

Crew can't be separated from their war machines now; for whatever reason. For all intents and purposes they are a single model.

Leaving your war machine is from 7th. I found this CSR response to the question; but GW CSRs...


From: Chris

Sent: Wednesday, August 25, 2010 12:45 PM

To: US Customer Service

Subject: WHF rules question: Orcs, Waagh! and war machines

Hello,
have a rules question:



According to the Orcs & Goblins army book, the Orc spell Waagh! states that friendly units will move 2d6" forwards or towards the nearest enemy when cast. It goes on to state that crews will abandon their war machines. 



However in the new 8th edition rulebook, it states that crew are to be ignored for most gaming purposes, treating the war machine itself as the extent of the unit. 

Do the crew abandon their war machine when Waaghing? Or do does the entire machine move when Waaghing?



I've heard that army book-specific rules (like Waagh! in this case) take precedence over general rulings in the main rulebook. If you could please confirm.



Thank you!

Chris


(GW Customer Service)

From: US Customer Service <Custserv@games-workshop.com>

To: Chris

Sent: Wed, August 25, 2010 12:51:41 PM

Subject: RE: WHF rules question: Orcs, Waagh! and war machines

Chris!
The crew, nor the machine will move, those Orcs are to old, bitter and surly to properly WAAAAAAAAAGH as they are busy beating the gobos back in line.

Thanks!



(Grymgwar)

From: Chris
Sent: Wednesday, August 25, 2010 1:01 PM

To: US Customer Service

Subject: Re: WHF rules question: Orcs, Waagh! and war machines

John,
 thanks for the quick reply. 

One more follow-up question: can the war machine fire in the turn in which the Waagh! was called?



Thanks!


(GW Customer Service)

From: US Customer Service <Custserv@games-workshop.com>
To: Chris
Sent: Wed, August 25, 2010 2:01:06 PM
Subject: RE: WHF rules question: Orcs, Waagh! and war machines

Chris!
Yes it can indeed! WAAAAAGH!



Ref. http://z3.invisionfree.com/Orc__Goblin_Warpath/index.php?showtopic=26946&view=findpost&p=1449238

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/30 03:23:40


All things Eldar
http://ateldar.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

OMG its the same Chris who told me he'd fix my postal code problem and hasen't answered any of my E-mails since. Feel free to believe him while i flush his opinion down the toilet, and point out he dosen't have anything to do with the guys who actually write the rules.

He's about as legit as a GW Store redshirt


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: