Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 02:15:41
Subject: Rules questions... please help
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
New player here, so bear with me. Couple of game related questions:
Question #1:
Librarian in Terminator Armor uses psychic power "gate of infinity" during movement phase and lands near the enemy. Because the power uses "deep strike" rules does that mean that you can not move further that turn, but you can shoot in the shooting phase, and you can not assault during the assault phase. True? False? Comments?
Question #2:
Frag grenades are "assault grenades" and are used during assault to help initiative. Krak grenades are designed to be used against vehicles and allow infantry to hurt armor... No where does it say that you can not use Krak grenades against an enemy infantry model... is this possible, say an independent character? Also if I am assaulting a vehicle and I have grenades, I get to roll all of my attacks as grenade attacks right? Tac Marine is charging into assault with enemy rhino... 1 attack + 1 attack for charge = 2 krak grenade attacks against the rhino, right?
Question #3:
I am totally confused about the Vindicator vehicle's Demolisher Cannon. Does it shots always scatter? Reading the description it is a little unclear. It is an ordinance 1, barrage. It uses the large blast template. It can fire indirect or direct. I get why the indirect option would roll scatter dice... but what about a straight shot right in front of it.... can you fire it without the template using model BS? Or again, does it always scatter?
Thanks, not sure why these rules are messing me up, but I would like to get someone else's take on them.
Tancred
|
My armies: - 3000+ points
(played as vanilla Marines until the Codex is updated)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 02:34:38
Subject: Rules questions... please help
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
First of all, there's a forum for this. You Make Da Call. Rules questions go in there. Just for future reference.
Now to answer your questions!
tancredwest wrote:Question #1:
Librarian in Terminator Armor uses psychic power "gate of infinity" during movement phase and lands near the enemy. Because the power uses "deep strike" rules does that mean that you can not move further that turn, but you can shoot in the shooting phase, and you can not assault during the assault phase. True? False? Comments?
That is correct. When a Librarian uses "Gate of Infinity," he and any unit to which he is attached move up to 24" using the Deep Strike rules. This means they DO scatter, they CANNOT move any further in the Movement phase, they CANNOT assault in the Assault phase,, but they CAN shoot in the Shooting phase.
tancredwest wrote:Question #2:
Frag grenades are "assault grenades" and are used during assault to help initiative. Krak grenades are designed to be used against vehicles and allow infantry to hurt armor... No where does it say that you can not use Krak grenades against an enemy infantry model... is this possible, say an independent character? Also if I am assaulting a vehicle and I have grenades, I get to roll all of my attacks as grenade attacks right? Tac Marine is charging into assault with enemy rhino... 1 attack + 1 attack for charge = 2 krak grenade attacks against the rhino, right?
Krak grenades are used in close combat - they give you a single close combat attack against a vehicle (that probably has a better chance of popping the vehicle than the model's normal CC attack). However, it is explicitly stated that you only get the ONE attack. You do not get extra attacks for any reason if you use a grenade in close combat.
Because they are a CC option against vehicles and vehicles only, they cannot be used against infantry.
tancredwest wrote:Question #3:
I am totally confused about the Vindicator vehicle's Demolisher Cannon. Does it shots always scatter? Reading the description it is a little unclear. It is an ordinance 1, barrage. It uses the large blast template. It can fire indirect or direct. I get why the indirect option would roll scatter dice... but what about a straight shot right in front of it.... can you fire it without the template using model BS? Or again, does it always scatter?
I'm not sure where you got this one. The Vindicator's Demolisher Cannon is Ordnance 1, Large Blast. Nowhere in there does it say Ordnance Barrage. It cannot fire indirectly. But because it's a large blast marker weapon, it always scatters 2d6 minus the firer's BS (for the Vindicator, 4). This is true for all blast marker weapons, large and small.
Hope that helps!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/30 02:35:32
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 03:39:06
Subject: Rules questions... please help
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
SaintHazard wrote:I'm not sure where you got this one. The Vindicator's Demolisher Cannon is Ordnance 1, Large Blast. Nowhere in there does it say Ordnance Barrage.
It's incorrectly listed as Barrage in the Summary at the back of the Marine codex. IIRC, this is errata'd in the Marine FAQ.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 04:14:25
Subject: Rules questions... please help
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
Sorry about posting in the wrong area - just getting used to this board... got it now though
Thank you for all the answers. Missed the limited to one regardless of number of attacks on the krak vs vehicle, my bad, should have caught that part. Thanks for not flaming the idiot new guy.
Insaniak is right, I got the barrage from the codex summary - didn't check the faq, thanks for saying something.
Tancred
|
My armies: - 3000+ points
(played as vanilla Marines until the Codex is updated)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 11:50:01
Subject: Re:Rules questions... please help
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Don't worry about it.
Just glad to help.
If you got any more rules questions, don't hesitate to post them over at YMDC. Lotsa great people over there to answer them for you.
And I don't think anyone here's keen on "flaming the idiot new guy," seeing as we all start somewhere!
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 12:15:17
Subject: Re:Rules questions... please help
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Darn, everything answered already, and here I was going to flame the newb..........
@Tancred: "No where does it say that you can not use Krak grenades against an enemy infantry model... is this possible, say an independent character?"
What you need to ask yourself, is where does it say you can do something? So in this case, where does it say that you can use krak grenades against non-vehicles? Without such a statement, you can't do it. Approaching rules questions this way will help a lot. Welcome to the game!
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 14:59:47
Subject: Re:Rules questions... please help
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
don_mondo wrote:Darn, everything answered already, and here I was going to flame the newb..........
@Tancred: "No where does it say that you can not use Krak grenades against an enemy infantry model... is this possible, say an independent character?"
What you need to ask yourself, is where does it say you can do something? So in this case, where does it say that you can use krak grenades against non-vehicles? Without such a statement, you can't do it. Approaching rules questions this way will help a lot. Welcome to the game!
Bolded for reference.
4th edition marine codex; under Tyrannic war veterans, page 50. Although if you are using this old codex you will have lots of rules issues that could potentially stop the game completely as you look for an answer; and you lose out on some good Special rules/Cheaper units from the 5th edition marine codex.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/30 15:00:42
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/30 17:29:32
Subject: Rules questions... please help
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Well, heck, if we're going to use old rules, I'll throw mine like I could in 2nd ed.......................
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|