Switch Theme:

Pursuit Move  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker



Seattle, WA

So we had a problem come up last time we played. It involved the pursuit move rules. Essentially I had a unit that caused an enemy unit to flee and I rolled high enough to contact another close combat with my pursuers. The problem arose when we looked at the rules for pursuit. Pg 57 says you move the pursuers straight forward stopping 1" away from friendly units/impassable terrain and charging any enemies in the way. On pg 58 it says you conduct the charge as a normal charge without having to roll the charge distance since that's already been determined. It also says you have to wheel and close the door to maximize base to base contact.

The question is if you can wheel to miss a friendly unit and charge the enemy are you allowed to wheel prior to moving to miss the friendly unit/impassable terrain? Or do you have to move straight ahead and stop 1" away from the friendly unit?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If yuor move straight ahead causes you to contact an enemy unit, THEN it is a charge and you follow the rules for a charge, including being able to wheel.

If a friendly unit is in the way it is not a charge (because moving straight ahead hasnt let you contact an enemy unit) therefore you stop 1" away, no wheel allowed.

Essentially the part about "normal charge" is so you still attempt to maximise.
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker



Seattle, WA

According to that interpretation then the only overrun into a new enemy that can happen is if they are engaged on the opposite side or your frontage is small enough to get in without violating the 1" rule. I like that since I hate people getting to multiple combats with a unit and that practically makes it impossible to overrun into an engaged unit.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I didnt actually say that - if you can contact BOTH an enemy and friendly unit *at the same time* then it counts as a charge, allowing you to get inside the 1" rule. In addition you are given explicit permission to see if you would contact an enemy unit, meaning the 1" away rule wouldnt kick in if you determine you can contact an enemy unit by moving straight ahead - as soon as you determine a move in a straight line contacts an enemy it is now a charge, meaning the 1" away rule is ignored.

So if you want to hit the flank of a unit engaged to the front, with the overrun move, you can do so as long as you either hit the enemy and friendly unit at the same time (i.e. they are flush against eachother, e.g. 100m vs 100m with perfect maximise) or you can hit the enemy unit without contacting a friendly one (in the case the the friendly overlaps the enemy, but your path does not touch the friendly unit) by moving straight ahead.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/03 10:24:54


 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: