Switch Theme:

Just a quick clarification concerning PSAs and multiple-powers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ship's Officer






If a unit (such as a Tzeentch DP) that may cast multiple psychic powers a turn fails its psychic test to cast a shooting attack, e.g. Doombolt, may the unit use its second psychic power to attempt to fire again? (I know it can't fire twice).

Thanks

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

I would say no. There's a line on BRB page 50: "Note that a psyker who rolls double 1 will still use his power, even if he is wounded or killed as a result" which kind of implies that a failed result did not actually use the power. However if you follow that logic, then a psyker who fails his test to use a power, may simply try again and again and again until he casts it or is killed from too many Perils results. I don't think that was the intent of the wording of that line. So you pretty much have to assume that if you failed the roll, then it was an "unsuccessful use" of the power.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker






Sacramento, CA

I'd say no as well based on the fact that any model may shoot once per shooting phase (unless otherwise specified). A PSA still counts as shooting, so you can attempt it only once a turn.

Edit: My answer was based on a normal model, not a MC. With an MC you could, but they are fired simultaneously so you can't fire the same PSA twice.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/02 21:44:46


Blood Wardens - 1500 Points (41% Painted)
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yes, you can.

What you cannot do is fire the same weapon twice, for the same reason a model that can fire two weapons cannot fire the same weapon twice.

That being the fact that being able to shoot twice isn't the same as being able to shoot the same weapon twice.

Edit: Silly me, misread the question.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/02 20:24:25


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







MC (ie DP) may fire two weapons ... so you can use two shooting powers.
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






Wait, so if I roll an 11 and the power doesn't cast, I still count as using my PSA?

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Xca|iber wrote:Wait, so if I roll an 11 and the power doesn't cast, I still count as using my PSA?
Yes, you count as using a PSA, because you did use it. Just because it failed to do anything doesn't mean you didn't use it. You can't fire a PSA, roll an 11, try and cast again, roll an 11, try and cast again, roll an 11, try and cast again, roll an 11, try and cast again, roll an 11, try and cast again, roll an 11, try and cast again, roll an 11, try and cast again, roll an 11, try and cast again, roll an 11, try and cast again, roll an 11, which is what you are suggesting.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/02 20:25:38


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






Okay thanks.

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




There's an easier way to look at it: ALL shooting, including PSA, from a single unit must be declared at the same time.

So if you have 1 PSA and can shoot two weapons, but only have the one PSA, NO MATTER WHAT you can only declare *1* PSA when you declare what shooting you are doing. Even if you fail that test your oppurtunity to declare another PSA has gone - you have started to resolve shooting.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: