| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 07:10:33
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Ok, so heres something that me and my friends just automatically play but have never really known.
Heres my specific example to go by:
We have an immobilised Trukk with no weapons.
you fail to destroy it in melee in the first turn.
On the second turn, do you gain 1+ attack for being in combat again? (and possibly +1 strength from furious charge, if applicable)
Because if you dont, wouldnt it be sane to move 6 away, then move 6 back to gain an assault bonus again?
For the purposes of this thread there is no reason to state how easy it is to destroy a truck in melee, or the fact that another damage result will destroy the truck. The point is the rule in question, please remember that
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 07:11:49
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Jaon wrote:Ok, so heres something that me and my friends just automatically play but have never really known. Heres my specific example to go by: We have an immobilised Trukk with no weapons. you fail to destroy it in melee in the first turn. On the second turn, do you gain 1+ attack for being in combat again? (and possibly +1 strength from furious charge, if applicable) Because if you dont, wouldnt it be sane to move 6 away, then move 6 back to gain an assault bonus again? For the purposes of this thread there is no reason to state how easy it is to destroy a truck in melee, or the fact that another damage result will destroy the truck. The point is the rule in question, please remember that 
No, you do not. What happens is this: Your Turn: Fail To Kill Stuff His Turn: Attack again because you are in base contact. No Bonus Attack or FC. Fail to kill stuff again BECAUSE YOU FAIL MORE THAN FAILMAN ON FAILDAY WITH A +6 FLAIL OF FAIL. Your Turn again: Move away, shoot at it, assault for Bonus attack and FC. So, in other words, yes, it would be "sane" to move away and re-assault it.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/03 07:13:18
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 07:25:57
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
So Gwar, it DOESNT count as re-assaulting in YOUR turn if you dont specifically do that?
LAME.
Also my gaming club was totally unaware of fighting a vehicle in the enemy turn. Seeing as its not a combat in any way, shape or form, and seeing the vehicle may move (rules do not say VEHICLE MAY MOVE OUT OF COMBAT, they say VEHICLE MAY MOVE.) I can only assume its not.
Now by no means am I saying your wrong  because your always right, but how are you right? Can you cite a page plox, so I can present this to my gaming club...although...I am mech guard...so maybe I shouldnt.... Automatically Appended Next Post: Oh I totally forgot about the "within 1'" rule, never mind
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/03 07:36:54
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 07:41:32
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Jaon wrote:So Gwar, it DOESNT count as re-assaulting in YOUR turn if you dont specifically do that?
LAME.
Also my gaming club was totally unaware of fighting a vehicle in the enemy turn. Seeing as its not a combat in any way, shape or form, and seeing the vehicle may move (rules do not say VEHICLE MAY MOVE OUT OF COMBAT, they say VEHICLE MAY MOVE.) I can only assume its not.
Now by no means am I saying your wrong  because your always right, but how are you right? Can you cite a page plox, so I can present this to my gaming club...although...I am mech guard...so maybe I shouldnt....
Oh I totally forgot about the "within 1'" rule, never mind 
What do you need me to show I am right? The page that lets you attack them if the vehicle doesn't move? You don't HAVE to move away from the vehicle in your turn, you can stay in base contact. You will still get to attack it, you just won't get the bonuses.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 08:43:14
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
I was wondering if you could cite a place that says being in btb with a vehicle counts as combat, and thus allows you to fight in the enemy turn
The within 1 rule doesnt seem to apply to vehicles either.
What confuses me is if you have to move away from the vehicle to assault it again..what happens when you dont move away and you just shoot the vehicle at point blank range...it still counts as in a combat, but you have shot. *head explodes*
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 08:50:14
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Champaign, IL
|
pg 63. "Successive Turns". Paragraph 3. (Just above the box about grenades)
It details that while you would attack again on your opponent's assault phase, the vehicle is not technically "locked" in combat. So, you could be fired upon, it can move away, etc. Of note, though, if anyone moves (besides pivoting), the 1" rule is now back.
About firing while in BtB: I don't see why you couldn't. (I also don't see why you would, but that's another story.) But my understanding is that since you don't move, you aren't charging. Ergo no +1 attacks, no Furious Charge, etc, etc.
Also, lol @ GWAR!'s fail explosion statement.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/03 08:54:20
Look at your comment. Back to mine. Back to yours NOW BACK TO MINE. Sadly, it isn't mine. But if you stopped trolling and started posting legitimate crap it could LOOK like mine. Look down, back up, where are you? You're scrolling through comments, finding the ones that your comment could look like. Back at mine, what is it? It's a highly effective counter-troll. Look again, MY COMMENT IS NOW DIAMONDS.
Anything is possible when you think before you comment or post.
I'm on a computer. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 13:03:07
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
But nothing requires you to move to gain furious charge, just assault. You cant fire in assault.
So if you fire, it means your out of assault, then you attack in melee, meaning you just entered assault, therefore having charged...without moving.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 13:55:54
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Jaon wrote:But nothing requires you to move to gain furious charge, just assault. You cant fire in assault. So if you fire, it means your out of assault, then you attack in melee, meaning you just entered assault, therefore having charged...without moving.
No. You cannot fire if you are locked in combat. You are not locked in combat with the Vehicle, but ARE in BTB, so you will attck it in the assault phase, but you will not have assaulted it.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/03 13:56:44
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 14:00:32
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
On a boat, Trying not to die.
|
Gwar!, doesn't a vehicle that is immobilized and had all it's weapons destroyed count as wrecked?
|
Every Normal Man Must Be Tempted At Times To Spit On His Hands, Hoist That Black Flag, And Begin Slitting Throats. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 14:02:58
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
chowderhead13 wrote:Gwar!, doesn't a vehicle that is immobilized and had all it's weapons destroyed count as wrecked?
No?  A vehicle that is immobilized and had all its weapons destroyed counts as a vehicle that is immobilized and has all its weapons destroyed.
Should that vehicle suffer ANOTHER Weapon Destroyer or Immobilized result, it will then be upgraded to Wrecked.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 14:07:33
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
On a boat, Trying not to die.
|
Ah. Thanks for the clarification.
|
Every Normal Man Must Be Tempted At Times To Spit On His Hands, Hoist That Black Flag, And Begin Slitting Throats. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 14:53:00
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
Grand Rapids Metro
|
Jaon wrote:I was wondering if you could cite a place that says...
Hahaha...trying to get Gwar to cite a page...not likely...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/03 15:05:52
Subject: Re:Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
Comments like that aren't needed and don't contribute to threads like this at all.
..I concur with GWAR' assesment in this scenario.
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/06 02:47:05
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Gwar! wrote:Jaon wrote:But nothing requires you to move to gain furious charge, just assault. You cant fire in assault.
So if you fire, it means your out of assault, then you attack in melee, meaning you just entered assault, therefore having charged...without moving.
No. You cannot fire if you are locked in combat. You are not locked in combat with the Vehicle, but ARE in BTB, so you will attck it in the assault phase, but you will not have assaulted it.
You seem to be missing my point D:
As you just stated, you are never locked in combat with a vehicle, therefore can fire, in BTB, can you not?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/06 03:52:54
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Vancouver, BC, Canada
|
There is no reason you couldn't shoot while you were in btb since you aren't locked in combat but if you don't move away you're not going to get your charge bonus.
on page 63
"Units that still have models in base contact with a vehicle in its assault phase may attack it again, just as in a normal ongoing combat (including all models that would count as engaged in a normal assault)."
In an ongoing combat when you get back to your turn you don't get that extra attack for a charge or a furious charge bonus so if you didn't move away and then charge again you wouldn't get it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 02:22:33
Subject: Does each successive turn you spend in combat with a non combat vehicle count as assaulting?
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Fair enough. I will think of this in future.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|