Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/04 07:08:53
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
|
Ok, Say my opponent has a L.Russ and a Manticore next to each other, and I assault his L.Russ with my Dread. Can I place my Dread in Base to Base with both the of his tanks, and put all 3 attacks into the L.Russ? Or do I have to stay 1 inch (2 inches?) away from his Manti when assaulting his L.Russ
|
From without, the Imperium is assailed by alien monsters from the depths of space, nightmare death-machines and soulless daemons (as well as soulless death-machines and nightmare daemons, and the occasional soulless daemon in a nightmare death machine). |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/04 12:56:29
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
NO you cannot.
WHile you can come within 1" of his vehicles when assaulting, as normal, it is impossible for you to assault more than one unit with a single model, as you are only given permission to assault your initial unit - only additional models from the assaulting unit may assault other units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/04 14:08:36
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Nos is 110% correct. Were it a Squadron of Killa Kans, you might be able to get 1 at one and 1 at the other, but you can't with a single model.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/04 23:52:39
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Not to be a stick in the mud, but technically you CAN move into base with 2 models with one assaulting dread. If, during your movement phase, you move the dread in such a way that subsequent assault move via the absolute shortest distance to your target tank puts you in base contact with another vehicle at the same time, since you are required to move the shortest distance you should be in base with 2 vehicles.
Any rule refute this?
Edit: it goes without saying that such a move, without premeasuring, should be very difficult to set up such that you EXACTLY hit 2 seperate models at the same time, but in the right circumstances it can be done.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/04 23:54:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 00:06:29
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
DevianID wrote:Not to be a stick in the mud, but technically you CAN move into base with 2 models with one assaulting dread. If, during your movement phase, you move the dread in such a way that subsequent assault move via the absolute shortest distance to your target tank puts you in base contact with another vehicle at the same time, since you are required to move the shortest distance you should be in base with 2 vehicles.
Any rule refute this?
Edit: it goes without saying that such a move, without premeasuring, should be very difficult to set up such that you EXACTLY hit 2 seperate models at the same time, but in the right circumstances it can be done.
Incorrect. The assault rules do not force you to take the shortest route, they force you to take the shortest LEGAL route. Since moving into btb with 2 vehicles is not a legal route, you cannot do it.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 00:26:37
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
if the shortest route to the target comes to touch another, additional model, which rule prevents the move? I would agree Gwar, but without a book on hand at work, I can not recall the restriction you mention.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 00:31:54
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
DevianID wrote:if the shortest route to the target comes to touch another, additional model, which rule prevents the move?
The one that tells you to take the shortest LEGAL route to the unit designated as the target of the assault?
The rules that say you must Designate ONE target and move into Btb with that ONE target, not "That ONE target and anything else that so happens to be close by".
The rules allow other models to assault other units fine, but a unit of a single model cannot assault multiple units.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 00:58:42
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Again Gwar, not to be a stick in the mud, BUT... the restriction that you can not come within 1 inch of an enemy is lifted. Thus, as long as you dont move over an enemy model, which is still forbidden, why can you not end in base contact? You still declare 1 target, and move into that one target, but touch another along the way.
A related question for you Gwar. If 2 models were screening a third model behind him, and the distance between the 2 screening models was exactly the diameter of an assaulting models base, could the assaulting model move through the screening models, exactly touching both of them at one point, and then move past them to the target?
Basicly, I am wondering if there is a restriction saying you may never touch another models base. I dont remember such a restriction, but I dont have my book on hand for another 4 hours.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 01:08:52
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
DevianID wrote:Again Gwar, not to be a stick in the mud, BUT... the restriction that you can not come within 1 inch of an enemy is lifted.
Is the restriction that you cannot come into base contact restricted? No.
The rule lets you move into BTB with the target unit. No-one else. Automatically Appended Next Post: DevianID wrote:A related question for you Gwar. If 2 models were screening a third model behind him, and the distance between the 2 screening models was exactly the diameter of an assaulting models base, could the assaulting model move through the screening models, exactly touching both of them at one point, and then move past them to the target?
In this case, no, because the based would be touching.
Were it Base width plus 2 Planck lengths (one on each side), then he could.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/05 01:09:44
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 01:45:14
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
The first model in any assaulting unit is only permitted to asasult the closest model in the unit being assaulted. That means he cannot assault, ie make btb contact, with any other models. Period. So a unit consisting of a single model can only ever assault a single model. It's all right there in the assault rules.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 02:30:20
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
Hate to harp on this since it has already been put forth. The only restrictions on assault moves are closest to closest, shortest possible route, and coherency. I would also reiterate how DevianID has suggested that such a move is so improbable that it is allowed but highly unlikely. AFAIK there is no restriction on the first model assaulting only being able to touch one enemy model at the end of his assault move. If the shortest possible route to btb is to touch two or more models then it must touch both.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/05 02:33:46
8000+points of |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 03:52:29
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Kapitalist-Pig wrote:Hate to harp on this since it has already been put forth. The only restrictions on assault moves are closest to closest, shortest possible route, and coherency.
I would also reiterate how DevianID has suggested that such a move is so improbable that it is allowed but highly unlikely.
AFAIK there is no restriction on the first model assaulting only being able to touch one enemy model at the end of his assault move. If the shortest possible route to btb is to touch two or more models then it must touch both.
It is going to be practically impossible to have a valid scenario where you end up going the shortest distance to both models.
The only way people seem to be getting away with this line of thinking is to assault a FURTHER model and end up in BtB with the closest model... If you did that, you would then be assaulting the closer model which means you would have needed to assault it via the shortest path which means you would have never made it into BtB with the farther model. Whatever models your FIRST model assaults, you must reach it by the shortest path to be a legal assault, not just the unit you declare you are assaulting. The act of moving via the shortest path is your declaration of assault.
Besides being virtually impossible to be in a situation where you could actually assault two models via the shortest path, it simply isn't supported by the rules.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 08:55:35
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
DevianID wrote:Again Gwar, not to be a stick in the mud, BUT... the restriction that you can not come within 1 inch of an enemy is lifted. Thus, as long as you dont move over an enemy model, which is still forbidden, why can you not end in base contact? You still declare 1 target, and move into that one target, but touch another along the way.
Page 34, 'Moving Assaulting Models' first paragraph:
"...This means that assaulting models may still not move through friendly or enemy models, may not pass through gaps narrower than their base, and may not move into base contact with enemy models from a unit they are not assaulting."
You are specifically forbidden from moving into base contact, despite the 1" rule being ignored. Only the second and subsequent models (if they exist) are allowed to extend the assault onto a second unit.
Basicly, I am wondering if there is a restriction saying you may never touch another models base. I dont remember such a restriction, but I dont have my book on hand for another 4 hours.
You are ordinarily prohibited from moving within 1". The Assault rules over-ride this restriction, and replace it with one that forbids you from moving into base contact with models from a unit you are not assaulting.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 14:47:47
Subject: Btb with Multiple vehicles
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
It even says so in the multiple assaults section:
"Then remaining models can assault models belonging to other enemy units,"
Is the first model one of the 'remaining models'? Didn't think so...........................
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|