| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/04 13:27:10
Subject: HE bound spell
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Westchester, NY
|
Was reading HE book last night and came across Ring of fury.As an enchanted item can anyone have it? Can it be dispelled, if so, how many dispel points does it need? It is a bound spell (power level 3)
Thanks, RB
|
Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/04 13:34:54
Subject: HE bound spell
|
 |
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot
|
Bound Spells:
Used in the magic phase
Anyone can use them, not just wizards, unless of course they are arcane items. (so anyone can have the one you mentioned)
They are cast with normal power dice out of the power pool and the power level is what is needed to beat to cast the spell (so in your case a 3 or more is needed). But if carried by a wizard, his wizard level makes no difference on the casting roll, niether do any magic items carried.
The spell cast is always the first level of power, i.e if it was fireball it would be the fireball that inflicts D6 hits.
If the spell is failed, and it is held by a wizard, it does not break his concentration so other spells can be cast normally.
They can be dispelled normally, or with a dispel scroll, or be affected by other scrolls, i.e sivejir's hex scroll.
All other rules regarding spells (unless they are an exception above) affect them i.e irresistible force etc...
I think i've covered everything.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/04 13:37:02
"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann
Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':
Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3
Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.
Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/04 14:37:00
Subject: HE bound spell
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Westchester, NY
|
I must be missing something because it states no power dice are needed to cast. The spell is contained in the enchanted ring.
RB
|
Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/04 15:15:03
Subject: HE bound spell
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
What you are missing is that this is 8th ed, not 7th. In 7th you did not use powerdice to cast bound spells, but the enemy only had to beat the value (3 in this case) in order to dispel. Now you treat the bound spell as the value to cast at, and use power dice as normal.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/04 19:37:39
Subject: Re:HE bound spell
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Also, if you roll a double 6 the spell is cast with irresistible force but no roll on the miscast table is made. Instead the item can't be used again that game.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/04 20:29:16
Subject: HE bound spell
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
In fact the item self destructs or something.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/04 20:30:56
Subject: HE bound spell
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
ANd, if it were an item, it crumbles - meaning an Item inside a banner caues the banner to crumble.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/04 20:32:38
Subject: HE bound spell
|
 |
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot
|
Yes and that. (I knew i couldn't have covered everything)
|
"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann
Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':
Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3
Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.
Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 04:53:55
Subject: HE bound spell
|
 |
Dangerous Bestigor
|
Just a question on this crumbling thing, you said if a banner for instance were to crumble then there would be no more banner in the unit? so it loses all its standard bearer bonus?
And also does this mean if for instance you had a hero with a magic weapon that had a bound spell and it crumbled would he lose the ability to attack? Or for something like the corpse cart which is a unit with a bound spell would it die?
|
2000pts of beasty boys
1000pt rat pack - Clan Cozen
1000pt Savage Waagh
1500pt
(coming soon) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 05:39:21
Subject: Re:HE bound spell
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
I cannot say for sure what would happen in the case of the corpse cart. All models however are assumed to have a hand weapon. If your magical weapon had a bound spell, and you casted that bound spell with Irresistable force, then yes your weapon would crumble. You would then attack with what should be considered a normal hand weapon, and you would attack based on your profile alone. Magical bonuses from the weapon would be gone.
|
2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 10:34:55
Subject: HE bound spell
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, if the banner crumbles they no longer have a banner. Simples.
If you have a magic sword with a bound spell in it (cant think of any right now) and you IF, the sword would crumble. THis means you no l0onger have the magic weapon, and you can only attack with a hand weapon. Same if you have a bound spell in a shield, etc.
Same for a corpse cart. The cart, if that is the "item", crumbles. Its a simple rule!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/05 16:07:12
Subject: HE bound spell
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
It should be noted that the corpse cart casts its bound spell as an innate ability- and thus does not crumble...
Source: VC FAQ
Q. Is the casting of bound spells from the Corpse Cart an ‘innate’
ability? (p43)
A. Yes.
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|