| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/06 00:45:24
Subject: Couple questions from todays game
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
1) How do you run Dawn Attack? Do you roll for a unit, then deploy it, or do you roll for all your units, see what they've rolled and then deploy?
2) If a hero with incompatible base size is attached to a unit, can he refuse a challenge? What happens if a challenge is issued, but there's still another hero in base contact? In our case, it didn't come up because his lord accepted a challenge, but what would have happened if I challenged and he refused? His unit's front rank was a spellweaver, noble BSB, 3 rank and file, and his lord tacked on to the side.
3) If a Dwarf cannon with forging fires, can it re-roll the artillery dice in the event of misfire on the shot and the bounce *even if you need both on the same shot*? For example, I fired the cannon, got a misfire. Re-rolled for a 6. Rolled the bounce, got a misfire, re-rolled for a 10. Was it legal to re-roll the bounce if I'd already re-rolled the initial shot? The Rune of Forging reads as follows: "Allows the owning player to re-roll the artillery dice when he rolls a misfire. If you roll a misfire when rolling the artillery dice either to hit or to bounce, then you can roll again, but you are bound by the second roll..." I know this is something I should be comfortable with, but I never used cannons in 7th. I thought I was good to go, but JR wasn't expecting it to play that way, and there may be some room to quibble on the "either to hit or to bounce" section.
What are your thoughts?
RZ
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/06 02:46:58
Subject: Couple questions from todays game
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Red_Zeke wrote:3) If a Dwarf cannon with forging fires, can it re-roll the artillery dice in the event of misfire on the shot and the bounce *even if you need both on the same shot*? For example, I fired the cannon, got a misfire. Re-rolled for a 6. Rolled the bounce, got a misfire, re-rolled for a 10. Was it legal to re-roll the bounce if I'd already re-rolled the initial shot? The Rune of Forging reads as follows: "Allows the owning player to re-roll the artillery dice when he rolls a misfire. If you roll a misfire when rolling the artillery dice either to hit or to bounce, then you can roll again, but you are bound by the second roll..." I know this is something I should be comfortable with, but I never used cannons in 7th. I thought I was good to go, but JR wasn't expecting it to play that way, and there may be some room to quibble on the "either to hit or to bounce" section.
As far as I know you can do both of them on the same turn. I know a few people who play dwarves and we all interpret it this way.
|
Why do I roll five 1's way more than I roll five 6's? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/06 05:29:41
Subject: Couple questions from todays game
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Salem, Oregon USA
|
2) If a challenge iis refused, the challenging player decides who goes to the rear. If a mismatched character is sent back, he is moved to an unengaged position and since he iwas just tacked on to the side, he is not replaced by a rank abd file trooper.
1) As far as I can tell you roll for all your units then deploy them in their respective zones.
|
The pellet with the poison's in the vessel with the pestle.
The chalice from the palace has the brew that is true. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/06 09:00:13
Subject: Couple questions from todays game
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) Roll for all, deploy what is there.
2) As above - if he is "tacked on" he is simply moved somewhere he is not engaged. He doesnt stay at the edge - another compromise but better than "fudging" base sizes!
3) You reroll both, if you want. They are seperate rolls of the dice for seperate effects, so it definitely isnt rerolling a reroll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/06 18:07:10
Subject: Couple questions from todays game
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
1) We've been playing that you must roll and deploy each unit in sequence, without being able to ascertain the entire army's bleary-eyed confusion first. This always seemed to be in line with the intent of the scenario, and for some reason I recall it being more supported by the rules than rolling for everybody first. On the flip side Meeting Engagement has always clearly involved rolling for everybody and then deploying, as stated in its rules.
- Salvage
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/06 18:25:22
Subject: Couple questions from todays game
|
 |
Superior Stormvermin
|
We've been playing it as roll for everything first, then deploy after figuring out who is available. Otherwise, no characters could start the game within units! They'd have to be deployed on their own and then join their units in the first movement phase. It's a turkey shoot for whoever goes first!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/06 18:46:39
Subject: Re:Couple questions from todays game
|
 |
Unfortunate Ungor
|
1) For Dawn Attack we assumed per the rules that you roll for each unit unit and deploy them as you go, thus making the last sentence in the description "Sometimes units will become confused and lost, forcing their commander to modify his plan of battle".
That was a really fun game since we both ended up deploying the bulks of our armies on opposite flanks!
2) Even with different sized bases, hes still attached the the unit thus the challenge would go on as normal. Just like nos said, just move him to unengaged and forgo his attacks.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/06 18:48:59
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/06 20:08:17
Subject: Couple questions from todays game
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
The Crippler wrote:We've been playing it as roll for everything first, then deploy after figuring out who is available. Otherwise, no characters could start the game within units! They'd have to be deployed on their own and then join their units in the first movement phase. It's a turkey shoot for whoever goes first!
Recall that it says you can roll for characters by themselves or place them in a unit and then roll for that unit. Meeting Engagement is the scenario that can strand characters ...
- Salvage
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/06 20:09:46
Subject: Re:Couple questions from todays game
|
 |
Major
far away from Battle Creek, Michigan
|
We've played that you roll and place each unit one by one.
|
PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.
Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/06 23:14:04
Subject: Couple questions from todays game
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
My understanding for Dawn Attack has been with Olympia and Boss. In fact, I didn't realize there was any other way to read it until an opponent started rolling for all his units first. I've now played 2 games under each interpretation. Both have an affect on deployment, but it seemed small to minimal (though still significant) for the "roll 'em all first" and high impact for the one by one option.
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|