Switch Theme:

Gate of Infinity and Mishaps.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




England, UK

I had a game on Vassal a day or two ago and my opponent was using Tigurius with a squad of Sterngaurd with combi-meltas. He used the psychic power 'Gate' which allows him to reposition 24" using deep strike rules. However, he scattered onto one one my units and thus suffered a mishap.

The mishap in quesiton was 'Delayed' and we had no actual idea how to play this. Should the squad go back to its original position? Do they leave the table only to come back on via reserves next turn? Should they even suffer a mishap in the first place? We eventually used the second solution as it seemed the most feasible (the Librarian and the squad got lost in the Immaterium only to re-appear later).

What do you guys think? Was this the correct solution?

L. Wrex

INITIATIVE 10 - painting, modelling and gaming in the the 40k universe.
http://initiative10.blogspot.com/

INITIATIVE 10 STORE - painting and modelling commission and bitz webstore
http://initiative10.weebly.com/index.html

<Lycaeus Wrex> rolls 7 dice, 4+ to hit, Strength 6 against Armour 12...
* 0 out of 7 dice hit (4+) = (1,1,1,1,1,1,1) 
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Battle Creek, MI

There's a couple schools of thought

1. You get delayed (lost in the warp), go into reserves, when you pass your reserve roll, you deep strike back onto the table
2. You get delayed (completely lost), go into reserves, when you pass your reserve roll, you walk on from your table edge

We play it as 1 in our FLGS

   
Made in gb
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




England, UK

Yeah, we played it as 1 as well. Amusing thing was, that when he deep striked back onto the table he mishapped again. ^_^

L. Wrex

INITIATIVE 10 - painting, modelling and gaming in the the 40k universe.
http://initiative10.blogspot.com/

INITIATIVE 10 STORE - painting and modelling commission and bitz webstore
http://initiative10.weebly.com/index.html

<Lycaeus Wrex> rolls 7 dice, 4+ to hit, Strength 6 against Armour 12...
* 0 out of 7 dice hit (4+) = (1,1,1,1,1,1,1) 
   
Made in se
Brainy Zoanthrope




Sweden

Well, since they don't have Deep Strike in their special rules, they can't Deep Strike when put back in reserves, they would walk on from his table edge instead.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Warboss Tufgrim wrote:Well, since they don't have Deep Strike in their special rules, they can't Deep Strike when put back in reserves, they would walk on from his table edge instead.



Well In this special situation we have to look at *Gasp* Fluff. the power makes them travel through the warp so I would play it as they are delayed within the warp and in the next phase where you would normally use said power you Deep Strike them back onto the table without a reserve roll.

there aren't any RAW that I could find on this.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






There ARE Rules as Written for this situation.

The rules say you go back into reserves. The rules also say that a unit with the deep strike rule in its profile may arrive using the deep strike rules.

They don't have the deep strike rules, ergo they walk on. Period.

If you want to houserule it though, by all means. I personally think it makes more sense to arrive via deep strike, but it's certainly not RAW.

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






They are placed back in reserves, and even if theyl have DoA or another special rule allowing them to DS in you must walk them on from the board edge as normal, one cann't out flank with them either as one must declare which units are outflanking at the start of the battle.

Page 94
"...rule, the player must declare to his
opponent, during army deployment, whether they are
going to use their special rules to deep strike/outflank
or they are going to enter from his own table edge
when they will become available (see Arriving from
Reserve)...."

There is RAW on the matter, one just follows the rules instead of making somthing up.

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




ChrisCP wrote:Page 94 blah blah blah

There is RAW on the matter, one just follows the rules instead of making somthing up.


So by RAW, a unit with Librarian that entered the battle by DS from reserves to start with and then used Gate... would be allowed to DS if mishap-delayed since they declared DS before deploying?

A squad of Eldar Swooping Hawks w. Exarch (that started on board) can't DS from reserves again if they mishap after a Skyleap? Or would they be allowed to as they're actually placed in reserve with the intention to DS?

Nah, I'd actually say the rules don't adequately cover units put back in reserve due to this sort of DS mishap. Discussing it with your opponent before the situation comes up is probably wise.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Xca|iber wrote:There ARE Rules as Written for this situation.

The rules say you go back into reserves. The rules also say that a unit with the deep strike rule in its profile may arrive using the deep strike rules.

They don't have the deep strike rules, ergo they walk on. Period.

If you want to houserule it though, by all means. I personally think it makes more sense to arrive via deep strike, but it's certainly not RAW.


they cant walk on (see below *)

Page for rules covering this situation please. because I can not find it.

How can one go "Back into reserve" if they were never in reserve to begin with?

ChrisCP wrote:They are placed back in reserves, and even if theyl have DoA or another special rule allowing them to DS in you must walk them on from the board edge as normal, one cann't out flank with them either as one must declare which units are outflanking at the start of the battle.

Page 94
"...rule, the player must declare to his
opponent, during army deployment, whether they are
going to use their special rules to deep strik
e/outflank
or they are going to enter from his own table edge
when they will become available (see Arriving from
Reserve)...."

There is RAW on the matter, one just follows the rules instead of making somthing up.


if you did not declare them during deployment they would not walk on from the edge.*

GoI Teleports them through the warp to a "Chosen" location if they are delayed, I would have them 'Delay' their movement till the next time the Lib would be able to use that power and DS them where you want, since they were delayed in the warp, and not delayed near the edge of the board.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/08 06:07:15


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Nah you're on the right track.

First one, yes, they would in fact have to as that's what the RAW says "during army deployment, whether they are going to use their special rules to deep strike/outflank or they are going to enter from his own table edge when they will become available (see Arriving from Reserve)"

For Skyhawks, exactly, if they had started in reserves to DS, then that's how they are deployed. But the Exarch's power fortunately gives permission to break the deployment rules from their following turn, if it had said for they'd have to walk on if the reserve roll wasn't made~!


And again, you're welcome to say what you wish. I have provided the rules and referances, if unfortunately you don't have a rulebook on hand to review them fully - sorry ^_^

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/08 06:26:32


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker




New Jersey

I assume this would affect VoD the same way. I always played with back to reserves then DS when available, but I'm not so sure anymore. I guess RAW they would walk, but If you want to house rule it I don't see too many people having an issue with it.

"Order. Unity. Obedience. We taught the galaxy these things, and we shall do so again."
"They are not your worst nightmare; they are your every nightmare."
"Let the galaxy burn!"

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

By strict RAW, yes, they should be walking on... but it makes more sense for them to simply complete the Deep Strike when they can, so that's the way I tend to play it.

 
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Battle Creek, MI

Here's my line of thinking. GoI gives your Librarian and his unit the ability to deepstrike if you mishap then roll on the deepstrike mishap table. If your delayed you never got to deepstrike there is nothing saying that the power fails when you mishap. So I would believe your unit still has the special rule of deepstrike.

This has been debated since the codex has been released and you can't say it's RAW because it don't say exactly what to do either way

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Scyzantine Empire

However, they are "placed... ...using the deep strike rules" but do not gain the Deep Strike ability. RAW they walk on and can of course use Gate again.

What harm can it do to find out? It's a question that left bruises down the centuries, even more than "It can't hurt if I only take one" and "It's all right if you only do it standing up." Terry Pratchett, Making Money

"Can a magician kill a man by magic?" Lord Wellington asked Strange. Strange frowned. He seemed to dislike the question. "I suppose a magician might," he admitted, "but a gentleman never could." Susanna Clarke Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell

DA:70+S+G+M++B++I++Pw40k94-D+++A+++/mWD160R++T(m)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Gavin is correct. GoI does not give the Librarian and his unit the "Deep Strike" special rule, it merely allows them to resolve a single 24" move using the Deep Strike rules.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I play that they walk on - they got lost in the warp, ended up off the battlefield and have moved at a combat run to get back, while the Librarian recomposes himself.

As fluffy as them completing their deepstrike move, and the bonus of following hte rules.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: