Switch Theme:

Black Templars and Target Priority Checks  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





Pg.23 of the Black Templars codex has a special rule called Kill Them All! Basically, it applies a -1 ld modifier on any unit that test for target priority (IE, to shoot at something OTHER than the closest enemy unit). Now with the advent of 5th edition, target priority no longer exists. Does this rule still apply?

Please not that it is very important to read the actual text, as it's not as cut and dry as you think.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

That roll is never made, so there is no adjustment made to it.

Or if you prefer, there is an adjustment to a roll that is never made.

/shrug

Editing to add:
I did read it, but still do not get why it is not a cut an dry issue.
What did I miss?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/08 18:41:15


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Incorrect.

The BT codex states exactly how to take a target priority test. As such the rule is still valid, therefore you take TP and are at -1 when doing so.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Technically when you're playing a fourth edition codex that explicitly explains how to take target priority tests, and you don't take them (and nobody I know does) you're house-ruling it. Nos is correct on this one, RAW.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

No it doesn't. . .

"it suffers a -1 modifier to its Leadership when testing to see if it can target an enemy unit other than the closest" would only apply if there WAS a test to target an enemy other than the closest.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
It's like Brood Telepathy.

(Ygmarl) Genestealers do not even have IB listed, so there is no reason for them to ever make that check-regardless of the Brood Telepathy rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/08 18:58:22


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






First question in the GW FAQ for BT -
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1180125_Black_Templars_FAQ_2006-08_5th_Edition.pdf
Q. Does the ‘Kill them All!’ rule mean that I have
to test not to fire at the closest enemy?

A. Yes, that rule still works perfectly as written,
meaning that Black Templar infantry, jump
infantry and bikes must test (with a -1 Ld
modifier!) in order not to shoot at the closest
target.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/08 19:22:24


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Thank you.



I was missing something, it is cut and dry though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/08 19:30:58


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Boosting Black Templar Biker




California

I don't test. Of course thats because I never want to shoot anything other then the unit I'm face to face with and about to charge anyway so I've never really had to.

But yes according to the FAQ's (for what their worth) the rule still applies until BT get nipple armour of their own...err I mean a new codex.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: