Switch Theme:

Timing of Miscast Effects  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





I was playing a fantasy game on Monday night, and my opponent cast a spell with IF and Miscast (obviously both together =p)

The spell was from the Lore of Life (can't for the life of me remember the name), but one of it's benefits was that it let you ignore a miscast on the roll of 2+ . . . now would you be able to roll to stop the miscast using the effect of the spell you got the miscast from?

It's all just a matter of timing. Our decision was no, as he has just built up the energy for the spell, gets hit by the miscast, THEN the spell takes effect.

Ofcourse this also works with buffs and things as well, would a unit/model hit by a miscast get the effects of the buff causing the miscast?

Thoughts please =D

Oshova

3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP



DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in af
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot



Provo, UT

BRB, Pg.34, Miscasts, par.1-2, "When irresistible force occurs, first resolve the effect of the spell that the wizard was attempting to cast. As the spell has been cast with irresistible force, the casting player can at least enjoy the effect of his spell before something almost indescribably bad happens to the wizard and everyone else. Once the effect of the spell has been resolved, the wizard now needs to roll 2D6 on the miscast table to see what happens." (Italics added for emphasis)

BRB, pg.496, Lore of Life, Throne of Vines, "Throne of vines is an augment spell cast upon the wizard. Whilst the spell is in effect, every time the wizard miscasts, roll a dice. On a 2+, the miscast is ignored."

Yes, you can roll for the Throne of Vines spell, cast it with IF, and then immediately discount the miscast by rolling 2+ as you must resolve the effect of the spell before rolling on the miscast table. It's a pretty good little combination.

DarkAngelHopeful

"If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face--forever." -1984, pg.267

I think George Orwell was unknowingly describing 40K.

Armies - Highelves, Dwarves 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





Ooh couldn't find that when we looked through. But then the 2 of us are the kind of players to go with what seems right if we can't find the rule quickly, and standing round looking through a rulebook can ruin the flow of the game.

But thanks =D Now we can game on in happiness once more =D

Oshova

3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP



DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Dusty Skeleton





If you do things in the correct order then you dont get the 2+ ignore, heres why.

1. Cast spell and miscast
2. Resolve Spell
3. Spell takes into effect
4. Miscast happened BEFORE the spell
5. Roll on miscast table

Your jumping all over the place if you try to negate it like that, your not resolving things in the proper order.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Zenkaron - please go away and read 8th ed spell casting rules, which specifically state you resolve the spells effects BEFORE rolling the miscast.
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

nosferatu1001 wrote:Zenkaron - please go away and read 8th ed spell casting rules, which specifically state you resolve the spells effects BEFORE rolling the miscast.

+1


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Stoic Grail Knight



Houston, Texas

Zenkaron wrote:If you do things in the correct order then you dont get the 2+ ignore, heres why.

1. Cast spell and miscast
2. Resolve Spell
3. Spell takes into effect
4. Miscast happened BEFORE the spell
5. Roll on miscast table

Your jumping all over the place if you try to negate it like that, your not resolving things in the proper order.



It actually goes like this.

1. Cast spell with irresistible force.
2. Resolve the spell
3. Attempt to resolve the miscast.
3.1. Roll a 2+ on the D6
4. Miscast is ignored

The miscast doesnt "happen" until after the spell is resolved.

Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins-  
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: