Switch Theme:

templates and blasts  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ie
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




Hey all!

I just have two questions - if you flame a vehicle with the purpose of hitting troops behind the vehicle, can you still attempt to hit the majority of that unit?

I ask because in this example, it is the vehicle that is being targetted - say, by Fire Dragons.


Second question: If you place a blast marker at the back of a vehicle so that you will also hit the models obscured by said vehicle, can those units claim a cover save? I would assume yes, as you're measuring from where the shot is coming from, and in this example, LOS cannot be drawn to that unit.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) Flamer templates require that you cover as much of the vehicle as posible. Once you have satisfied that you can freely hit other units, as long as they are not friendly or in combat

2) They get a cover save using normal LOS rules. If the shot is Barrage then, by using the centre of the blast they may not gain a cover save, but assuming they are 100% blocked by the tank then a normal LOS requiring weapon would give a cover save.
   
Made in ie
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




What if i opted to flame the units behind the vehicle, so I could hit all of them.

Could I then proceed to assault the tank, since it was also hit by the template? Multiple combats would not be possible here, since in this case, the unit behind the vehicle is not within charge range, as that would require moving behind said vehicle with a distance of more than 6"
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) If you can see the unit behind the vehicle you can elect to target them with the flamer, and you must then hit as many of that unit as possible.

2) No, because flamers still require you to target a unit. Jut because you affected the vehicle doesnt mean you are exempt from the first step of shooting, selecting A target.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: