| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 13:24:01
Subject: Chain Lightning (Lizardmen/Magic?) and Charging/Reforming Question
|
 |
Hungry Little Ripper
Washington DC/Northern Virginia
|
Heya guys.
So just upgraded from 40K to Fantasy and played my first game last night vs. my friend's Lizardmen. We had a few questions and figured maybe you guys could give some answers.
1) My opponent targeted a chain lightning spell on a unit outside of close combat. The spell then jumped to one of my units in close combat. Is this a legal move? The book says that a wizard cannot target direct damage spells (like chain lighting) on units in close combat, but his reasoning was that the wizard DIDN'T target a unit in close combat. He argues the jumping effect of chain lightning isn't the wizard, it's a property of the spell, so it has to attempt to jump to every unit within it's area of effect. He argued that since the wizard targeted a unit outside of close combat, he operated within the restrictions for that spell type and the chain lightning is now essentially on autopilot, running is course and the wizard is not longer the one targeting anything.
2) I have a unit against the board edge who is well within range to charge the enemy. However in order to do so it needs to make a wheel. The problem is that when it wheels, one of its back ranks will be off the board by a few models. Does the charge automatically fail? Am I forced to regroup before charging or is there some rule that still allows me to wheel and charge?
So some simple questions from a new player. Probably easy answers in the BRB that I just missed, but would appreciate the forum's expertise regardless.
Cheers.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 13:43:36
Subject: Chain Lightning (Lizardmen/Magic?) and Charging/Reforming Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) The spell lets you choose an enemy unit within 6", which is nto "targettign" and you can therefore annihilate a unit in CC.
How I read it anyway.
2) You cannot wheel off the board edge, as you have no permission to do so. IF there is no way to reach the charged unit without trying to wheel over the board edge then the charge fails. I cant think of many situations where a move forwards, wheel, move wouldnt succeed however, unless there is other terrain or units in the way.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 14:09:16
Subject: Re:Chain Lightning (Lizardmen/Magic?) and Charging/Reforming Question
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
Houston, Texas
|
With the chain lightning even though it bounces, I would believe its still considered a magic missile and bound by the rules of that type of spell.
So I would say no, it cant bounce into close combat.
|
Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins- |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 14:11:20
Subject: Chain Lightning (Lizardmen/Magic?) and Charging/Reforming Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
CL isnt a magic missile, unless I've missed something...
It also isnt the initial casting, you are only bound by those restrictions when casting the spell -you resolve these effects AFTER casting.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 14:12:56
Subject: Re:Chain Lightning (Lizardmen/Magic?) and Charging/Reforming Question
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
Houston, Texas
|
Its a direct damage spell, so the point i was trying to make is still valid.
IMO, just because it "bounces" it is still a direct damage spell, and must follow the rules for one. As if it were basically cast again, at the new target.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/10 14:13:22
Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins- |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 15:44:46
Subject: Chain Lightning (Lizardmen/Magic?) and Charging/Reforming Question
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
The spell dosen't say it targets the next unit it just says "choose an enemy", so any enemy would cualify even if he's in CC.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 15:56:19
Subject: Re:Chain Lightning (Lizardmen/Magic?) and Charging/Reforming Question
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Provo, UT
|
Another thing of note is that under the Direct Damage rules on pg.31, it states, "Sometimes a direct damage spell will use a template to determine which models are hit. When this happens, the template cannot be placed in such a way that it touches friendly units or enemy units that are in close combat..." (underline added for emphasis)
Chain Lightning is a Direct Damage spell, but it is not a template spell. So, per the rules of Direct Damage and from the spell itself, I interpret that chain lightning could jump onto an enemy unit engaged in CC.
DarkAngelHopeful
|
"If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face--forever." -1984, pg.267
I think George Orwell was unknowingly describing 40K.
Armies - Highelves, Dwarves |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 20:19:48
Subject: Re:Chain Lightning (Lizardmen/Magic?) and Charging/Reforming Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
ShivanAngel wrote:Its a direct damage spell, so the point i was trying to make is still valid.
IMO, just because it "bounces" it is still a direct damage spell, and must follow the rules for one. As if it were basically cast again, at the new target.
Except it explicitly ISNT cast again, and even uses the specific language "choose" and not "target"
So yes, it can hit a unit in CC, but not initially
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|