| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 18:21:44
Subject: Remains in Play spells and no longer a wizard?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Had an interesting situation come up in round 1 of 'ard boyz that we weren't sure how to resolve.
Lv 3 vampire lord casts Transformation of Kadon to become a great fire dragon.
He miscasts during the casting, losing 3 wizard levels and forgetting the spell.
According to the rulebook, RiP spells go away when they're dispelled, the wizard is slain, or the caster chooses to end it - only then, from the sound of it.
We played that it stayed in play and active, and his great fire dragon proceeded to munch through a block of chaos warriors with my BSB. From all angles, it seems like we played it right. Anyone disagree, and know why?
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 18:40:53
Subject: Remains in Play spells and no longer a wizard?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Did it right.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 18:49:29
Subject: Remains in Play spells and no longer a wizard?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep. He cannot end it, as he isnt a wizard, and it doesnt meet involuntary conditions for ending it, so you dont.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 18:52:20
Subject: Remains in Play spells and no longer a wizard?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
It can still be dispelled as it is RiP tho.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 22:28:34
Subject: Remains in Play spells and no longer a wizard?
|
 |
Nimble Dark Rider
T.O.
|
Anyone care to point out how the vamp ceases to be a wizard? It says he loses levels, not that he stops being a wizard
|
Please put this on your sig if you know someone, work for someone or are related to someone who suffers from stupidity. Stupidity is real and should be taken seriously. You could be sitting next to a sufferer right now. There is still no known cure for stupidity and sympathy does not help. But we can raise awareness.... 93% won't copy and paste this because they don't know how to copy and paste |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 22:47:04
Subject: Remains in Play spells and no longer a wizard?
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Provo, UT
|
Leith wrote:Anyone care to point out how the vamp ceases to be a wizard? It says he loses levels, not that he stops being a wizard
BRB, pg.28, Wizard Level, par.1, "Wizards have a level from 1 to 4." So, the reasoning is, if he lost all of his levels cannot claim he has a level from 1 to 4, then he is not a wizard.
|
"If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face--forever." -1984, pg.267
I think George Orwell was unknowingly describing 40K.
Armies - Highelves, Dwarves |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 23:37:55
Subject: Re:Remains in Play spells and no longer a wizard?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It doesn't matter whether the caster is still a wizard or not. Page 36 says "[Remains in play spells] only come to an end when the target is slain, or else the caster is slain, chooses to end the spell ... or leaves the battlefield." (emphasis added on the significant term).
No longer being able to cast the particular spell, or any spell at all, or ceasing to be a wizard entirely, doesn't cause the spell to end early; nor does any of that prevent the caster from voluntarily ending the spell early.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/13 09:27:00
Subject: Remains in Play spells and no longer a wizard?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Leith wrote:Anyone care to point out how the vamp ceases to be a wizard? It says he loses levels, not that he stops being a wizard
As was pointed out: wizards have a level 1 - 4. If yuo dont have wizard level 1 - 4, you are not a wizard as you dont meet the definition of one.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/13 14:25:40
Subject: Re:Remains in Play spells and no longer a wizard?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
As i understand the reading of the rules, you are not required to be a wizard to volontarily end a RIP spell you cast, you are only required to be the caster.
though in this case i doubt that the vampire would want to end the spell.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/13 14:26:08
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/13 15:07:59
Subject: Remains in Play spells and no longer a wizard?
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
I'm with solkan. The Model Formerly Known As Wizard was still the caster.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/13 15:47:57
Subject: Re:Remains in Play spells and no longer a wizard?
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Provo, UT
|
solkan wrote:It doesn't matter whether the caster is still a wizard or not. Page 36 says "[Remains in play spells] only come to an end when the target is slain, or else the caster is slain, chooses to end the spell ... or leaves the battlefield." (emphasis added on the significant term).
No longer being able to cast the particular spell, or any spell at all, or ceasing to be a wizard entirely, doesn't cause the spell to end early; nor does any of that prevent the caster from voluntarily ending the spell early.
I'll concede that. It makes sense.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/13 16:03:40
Subject: Remains in Play spells and no longer a wizard?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Arctik_Firangi wrote:The Model Formerly Known As Wizard was still the caster.
This statement is not only correct, its made of WIN
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|