Switch Theme:

Space Wolf Scout + Wolf Guard + Razorback = legal?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






Ok my list.

Elite 1.
6 Wolf guards (joined to Gray hunters)
1 Wolf guard (joined to scout group)
1 Razorback


Elite 2.
5 Scouts (joined by Wolf guard)


Can i mount the 5 scouts + the wolf guard in the razorback and still outflank using 'Behind Enemy Lines'


Note: I understand i can do it with just the Guard + the scout.. the real question is what happens when i throw the razorback in there or can i even mount the squad in the razorback at the start of the game. I'm really kinda lost as how this would work. If i cant ill drop the razor from the list.
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





Not as far as I know.
When you join a wolf guard to a unit he counts as a member of that unit (i.e. a scout unit), the razorback isn't the scouts' dedicated transport so they can't start in it.

If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




ok so next question.

We have a lot of people who bring drop pods for Squad X and use it on Squad Y, Is that legal?
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





No, only the unit that have bought it can start in it in the beginning of the game.
(Unless the unit Y is an IC who have joined unit X, which deep-strike together.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/17 13:02:20


If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in gb
Battle-tested Knight Castellan Pilot






UK

No - also not legal.

You can combat squad X before the game begins, and deploy half of them on the board, the other half coming down in Drop Pod X. Or you can throw in an independant character (if he fits) with squad x also before the game begins, but its best to declare these things before the game begins.

Units can use an allied transport as long as the allied unit has already disembarked and they're within 2" of it and they all fit in. so your wolf scouts could mount an empty razorback provided they walked in off the edge of the board and then embark into the empty razback. It can't roll on the board edge with them in it!

drop pods are different, they start the game off the board.

Stick to the shadows - Strike from the darkness - Victorus aut Mortis - Ravenguard 1st Company 
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





You can combat squad X before the game begins, and deploy half of them on the board, the other half coming down in Drop Pod X.


False, atleast for vanilla marines. They combat squad when they arrive with the drop pod.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/17 13:05:22


If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

s.j.mccartney wrote:No - also not legal.

You can combat squad X before the game begins, and deploy half of them on the board, the other half coming down in Drop Pod X.


No, you cannot. Just like vanilla marines, they can only split into combat squads when they disembark from the pod. To simplify it, it's either deploy both halfs on the board, leave both in reserves with neither in a transport, or both in the same pod.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





UK

What you CAN do is have ONE wolf guard (not in terminator armour) attached to a Wolf Scout squad and put them in razorback.
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Alexandria

No you cannot, there is a lot of misconceptions in this post here, ill set things straight. *puts on raw hat*

1. A dedicated transport has the caveat that only the unit that purchased it may start embarked inside. nondedicated transports, e.g ones purchased as heavy support etc, may have anyone start the game embarked inside of them.

2. Wolf guard that join a unit become that unit type. so they would no longer be considered wolf guard for ability to start embarked in the WG razorback.

3. So then no, the wolfguard joined scouts would not be able to bring the razorback along with them, nor would they even be able to begin embarked inside of it.

As to something else i saw, yes combat squadding is done on deployment, which the unit inside the pod doesnt actually do until the pod lands, so its either full squad or empty, no way to have half pod down with half sitting comfy in a building etc.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/17 16:00:32


- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts 
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





And how is that different from what I said.

But it's correct on all points and it's easier if it's in one post instead of scrambled around the thread.

If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Alexandria

well, i didnt say EVERYONE was wrong lol.

- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok just to clarify.

when all 7 or so wolf guards get split off to join the other packs the RZB (which was the WG transport) is still locked up allowing nothing to start in it because it "was / is" the wolf guard transport even though there are 0 wolfguard left in that squad?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/17 17:06:37


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Correct, although nothing stops you from deploying whatever you want to shove into the Razorback directly behind it and embarking in your first Movement phase.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Additionally even if the Scouts COULD deploy in the Razorback, the razorback does not have Scout or Infiltrate, and cannot therefore use OBEL - only if the Wolf Scouts themselves had a dedicated transport would Scouts, and only Scouts, be conferred to their transport.

so you have two issues: you cannot legally deploy int he 'back, and you cannot do what you want to do with it even if you COULD deploy in it.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you all very much. I think my list for sat is finished. Its a Huge 2500 army turney list and im looking to have a LOT of fun with it.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Oh geeze, so much wrongness in this thread.

To give you the CORRECT answers:

No, the scouts cannot go in it pre game because it is not their DT.

You cannot buy a Pod for Squad A and have Squad B use it.

And no, you CANNOT have ONE wolf guard (not in terminator armour) attached to a Wolf Scout squad and put them in razorback.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: