| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/18 20:45:56
Subject: Can you finagle a vehicle after it's wrecked?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Whenever a vehicle becomes wrecked (a roll of 5 on the vehicle damage chart), the group I'm in allows the person who owns the wrecked vehicle to finagle it - by that, I mean you can pick it up, and place it in the imprint of the wreck in any way possible: including placing a Rhino on it's side to "wall off" a LOS/incoming assault.
From what I can gather, the wrecked vehicle just becomes area terrain, untouched. Do you get to move it around, or does it just stay put?
|
Armies | Orks (2000 - Magna-Waaagh!) - | Blood Angels (1500 - Sylvania Company) - | Dark Eldar - (1500 - Kabal of the Golden Sorrow) - | Salamanders (1000 - Vulkan Ravens) - | Chaos (1500 - Wisdom and Wrath) - |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/18 20:55:21
Subject: Can you finagle a vehicle after it's wrecked?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Magnalon wrote:Whenever a vehicle becomes wrecked (a roll of 5 on the vehicle damage chart), the group I'm in allows the person who owns the wrecked vehicle to finagle it - by that, I mean you can pick it up, and place it in the imprint of the wreck in any way possible: including placing a Rhino on it's side to "wall off" a LOS/incoming assault. From what I can gather, the wrecked vehicle just becomes area terrain, untouched. Do you get to move it around, or does it just stay put? Lol. Your group is making a very silly house rule. RaW it just stays where it is and becomes terrain as nothing says you CAN "finagle" it. In fact, the rule explicitly states "The model is left in place and becomes a wreck".
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/18 21:00:29
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/18 20:57:04
Subject: Can you finagle a vehicle after it's wrecked?
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
We usually put a vehicle on its side or top to avoid confusion between wrecked and immobilised/active vehicles. Some people model smoke/fire to add.
Either way, it's done by mutual agreement, to avoid either side getting too much of an advantage. We go for something that "looks right", and we like the look of blown up vehicles scattered around.
It sounds like you have a good house rule. If you were playing strictly, though, you should probably leave it where it is and mark it as damaged in a way that doesn't give an advantage. Automatically Appended Next Post: There you go. Gwar is the king of RAW.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/18 20:58:51
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/18 20:59:50
Subject: Can you finagle a vehicle after it's wrecked?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I prefer the way I've seen it done at tournaments - it's just placed where it is, and you put black cotton on it.
IMO, rolling a 6 indicates that the vehicle spins out of control, and perhaps rolls on it's side before it leaves a crater: a 5, for wrecked, indicates that the vehicle just kind of "gave up".
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/18 21:00:16
Armies | Orks (2000 - Magna-Waaagh!) - | Blood Angels (1500 - Sylvania Company) - | Dark Eldar - (1500 - Kabal of the Golden Sorrow) - | Salamanders (1000 - Vulkan Ravens) - | Chaos (1500 - Wisdom and Wrath) - |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/18 21:01:34
Subject: Can you finagle a vehicle after it's wrecked?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Magnalon wrote:I prefer the way I've seen it done at tournaments - it's just placed where it is, and you put black cotton on it.
IMO, rolling a 6 indicates that the vehicle spins out of control, and perhaps rolls on it's side before it leaves a crater: a 5, for wrecked, indicates that the vehicle just kind of "gave up".
A roll of 6 results in the vehicle being removed completely, so it's not an issue.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/18 21:27:38
Subject: Can you finagle a vehicle after it's wrecked?
|
 |
Legendary Dogfighter
Munich, Germany
|
Yes, on a six it just explodes.
|
Join the Imperial Guard. The pay's lousy, the battles fierce and you probably won't ever come back again. BUT you get a lasgun.
2500 1250
9000 1000
1500
5500
planned |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/18 23:43:13
Subject: Can you finagle a vehicle after it's wrecked?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:Magnalon wrote:I prefer the way I've seen it done at tournaments - it's just placed where it is, and you put black cotton on it.
IMO, rolling a 6 indicates that the vehicle spins out of control, and perhaps rolls on it's side before it leaves a crater: a 5, for wrecked, indicates that the vehicle just kind of "gave up".
A roll of 6 results in the vehicle being removed completely, so it's not an issue. 
Right - hence my "crater" comment, referring to the rulebook's mention of placing a crater where the vehicle used to be ;D
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/18 23:43:52
Armies | Orks (2000 - Magna-Waaagh!) - | Blood Angels (1500 - Sylvania Company) - | Dark Eldar - (1500 - Kabal of the Golden Sorrow) - | Salamanders (1000 - Vulkan Ravens) - | Chaos (1500 - Wisdom and Wrath) - |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/19 04:17:52
Subject: Can you finagle a vehicle after it's wrecked?
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
You place a crater 'if you have one' otherwise, you just remove the vehicle.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|