Switch Theme:

Ork vehicles - noob question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Mountain Home, AR

Can something other then Boyz or Nobz be put inside a battlewagon or trukk or a looted wagon? I know that is the only ones who can take a dedicated transport, but is there any way to run other units inside them?

Thanks for your help.
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






They can but you need to pull a switch-a-roo turn one, page 67 BRB

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

ChrisCP wrote:They can but you need to pull a switch-a-roo turn one, page 67 BRB

Unless it's a Battlewagon or a Looted Wagon, which are both HS choices. Only if the Battlewagon is taken as a DT for Nobz must you do that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/21 13:50:25


DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Mountain Home, AR

So can I take a trukk and not have any boyz in it, or do I at least have to have 10 boyz deployed in the trukk to get a trukk?
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer




Alabama

It's perfectly legal to use a Boyz unit, who has purchased a Trukk, and not deploy them inside the trukk.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Redhat wrote:So can I take a trukk and not have any boyz in it, or do I at least have to have 10 boyz deployed in the trukk to get a trukk?

You can take a Trukk and not have any Boyz in it. The only unit that can deploy embarked in the Trukk would be the Boyz for whom the Trukk is a Dedicated Transport, however after the game starts you can embark any unit you want in the Trukk, and you don't have to deploy the Boyz in the Trukk.

In fact, a common strategy used by Tau players (including me) is to buy two units of Pathfinders, who take Devilfish transports as Dedicated Transports. Deploy the Devilfish without any Pathfinders in it, deploy a unit of Fire Warriors directly behind the Devilfish, infiltrate the Pathfinders, and embark the Fire Warriors in the Devilfish in the first Movement Phase.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Mountain Home, AR

you guys rock. looks like my shock attack gun might get some ork boy fodder so the burna boyz can steal the trukk

On another note, can the shock attack gun fire from a moving trukk?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/21 14:46:26


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Redhat wrote:you guys rock. looks like my shock attack gun might get some ork boy fodder so the burna boyz can steal the trukk

On another note, can the shock attack gun fire from a moving trukk?

Page 35, the small bullet point underneath the weapon profile.

In short, no, the Shokk Attack Gun Mek may not move and fire the SAG, and anything inside a transport that moves counts as moving as well.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Mountain Home, AR

Thanks again. Awesome community. It's nice to have a place to go to and ask questions without getting yelled at to go and read the book (which ive done about 5 times lol).
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Redhat wrote:Thanks again. Awesome community. It's nice to have a place to go to and ask questions without getting yelled at to go and read the book (which ive done about 5 times lol).

Sometimes we'll yell at you to go read the book if the rules are abundantly clear, but they're not always.

The bottom line is that websites may not give out rules wholesale, so typically we'll say, "The answer is on page 57 of the Ork codex, second paragraph" versus quoting the rule verbatim.

However, usually we'll be more helpful than "READ THE CODEX LOL."

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







And to quickly Segue into tactics, Burnas are better in a Battlewagon with a KFF mek with them.

Burnas NEED to be inside a Transport to be most effective. A Trukk simply isn't survivable enough.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

But it's absolutely worth doing. 15 Burnas in a Battlewagon, laying down 15 templates on some poor sap's... well, anything, is basically one of those "just go ahead and remove the models" situations.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: