Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 13:28:27
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Ground Crew
Lost somewhere in time
|
I couldn't find this posted about elsewhere, and I've failed for a while to find any rule that makes the issue completely clear to me. Does a unit inside a transport vehicle count as being in base contact with said vehicle? For a specific example, could a Techpriest Enginseer inside a Valkyrie use Blessings of the Omnissiah on the Valkyrie he's in? My gut says yes (from a logical standpoint), but I can't find any RaW that supports it.
Great thanks,
D!
|
I am the very model of a Commissar Imperial.
I have knowledge of our enemies, both xenos and heretical.
Armies Thus Far:
~ 4,000 points.
~ 500 points (what? I'm working on it) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 14:01:03
Subject: Re:Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Check the unit's listing. If it specifically says the unit may use its "repair" ability whilst inside a vehicle, it may. For example, in the Ork codex, the Mek's Tools entry says the Mek or Big Mek must be "inside (or in base contact with)" the vehicle. Unfortunately, I don't have my IG codex on me, so I can't check the Techpriest entry, but your answer should be there.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 14:04:44
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Ground Crew
Lost somewhere in time
|
The techpriest's ability says it must be "in base contact", without further explanation. But it seems silly to me to believe that a priest standing inside a vehicle is not touching it. (Especially in the case of a Valk. Seems like reaching would be much easier from inside than from the ground)
|
I am the very model of a Commissar Imperial.
I have knowledge of our enemies, both xenos and heretical.
Armies Thus Far:
~ 4,000 points.
~ 500 points (what? I'm working on it) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 14:22:29
Subject: Re:Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
On a Valkyrie, the base is used for assaulting and other "base contact" or "access point" purposes. So he could be in BtB with the Valk and repair it.
But if it doesn't specifically say he can do it without being inside the vehicle, I don't believe there's a general rule allowing it.
I could be wrong, let's get a second opinion (read: wait for Gwar! to read this thread).
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 17:12:33
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
IF you are inside the vehicle you arent in b2b.
Imagine trying to repair a defunct engine from inside the aircraft - how would that work exactly?
Orks are different, as usual - from memory Meks can repair while embarked.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 17:15:34
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:IF you are inside the vehicle you arent in b2b.
Imagine trying to repair a defunct engine from inside the aircraft - how would that work exactly?
Orks are different, as usual - from memory Meks can repair while embarked.
+1
For the same reason that when assaulting a transport, embarked models do not count as invovled in the CC.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 17:54:46
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Course, GW has thrown a wrench into figuring this out one way or the other, with the SW FAQ, where it says:
Q. Can an Iron Priest attempt to use his
Battlesmith special rule to repair a vehicle he is
currently embarked upon?
A. Yes.
Checking the SW codex, page 38, it ays: "If an Iron Priest is in base contact.........." So in that instance at least, base contact includes being embarked on the vehicle. So why wouldn't it count for any others?
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 17:55:53
Subject: Re:Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Because the SW codex and SW FAQ have no bearing whatsoever on any other codex?
Also because it doesn't say "Techmarine" or "Techpriest," it says "Iron Priest."
Is the unit called an Iron Priest or a Mek?
No?
Then you may not repair the transport if you're inside of it.
Also because the FAQs are not RAW, merely "Studio House Rules?"
Need I go on?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/21 17:57:10
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 17:57:04
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Or does it set a precedent on what they (GW) consider to be 'base contact' for purposes of repairing vehicles?
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 17:58:22
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
don_mondo wrote:Or does it set a precedent on what they (GW) consider to be 'base contact' for purposes of repairing vehicles?
It doesn't, because it doesn't say, "Embarked is the same thing as base-to-base contact."
It makes an exception for the Iron Priest, and the Iron Priest only, for repairing when inside of a transport.
Also, see the rest of my points, I think you may have posted before my edit.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 18:00:20
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
don_mondo wrote:Or does it set a precedent on what they (GW) consider to be 'base contact' for purposes of repairing vehicles?
Now now... don't you go trying to explore options like precedent and like kind to come to your own conclusions. The holy writ must say explicitly in every instance what may occur, or it may not!
/sarcasm
In all seriousness, seems about right to me. If my opponent wanted to try and repair his Chimera with a Techpriest inside, I'd let him.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 18:00:55
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
don_mondo wrote:Or does it set a precedent on what they (GW) consider to be 'base contact' for purposes of repairing vehicles?
While I would love to go down that path (especially with Shadows in the Warp), I think it causes more issues than it solves.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 18:03:10
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The Green Git wrote:Now now... don't you go trying to explore options like precedent and like kind to come to your own conclusions. The holy writ must say explicitly in every instance what may occur, or it may not!
Sarcasm aside, how is this not true?
Can we futz around with the codices and make changes because they "make sense" to us?
...did it ever occur to you that GW, for balance purposes, didn't want Techpriests or Techmarines to be able to repair a transport from inside of it?
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 18:27:58
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
No, because we are only allowed to assume what GW are thinking when it benefits us. </sarcasm> In Any case, No, the Techpriest cannot repair a vehicle while embarked.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/21 18:28:19
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 18:51:44
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The Green Git wrote:In all seriousness, seems about right to me. If my opponent wanted to try and repair his Chimera with a Techpriest inside, I'd let him.
I think this is how most of us feel in friendly games. That does not, however, change what is written in the 'Dex.
|
There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/21 19:21:09
Subject: Re:Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
SaintHazard wrote:
Also because the FAQs are not RAW, merely "Studio House Rules?"
For purposes of rules discussions here, they carry the weight of rules. From Tenets of YMDC:
2. The only official sources of information are the current rulebooks and the Games Workshop FAQs.
Anyways, IMO, it (the FAQ) provides enough of a question mark that I don't think we have a solid answer, unless GW ever gets off their ass and provides one.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/22 00:44:42
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
SaintHazard wrote:
...did it ever occur to you that GW, for balance purposes, didn't want Techpriests or Techmarines to be able to repair a transport from inside of it?
Yeah, and it's also occurred to me the the moon is made of green cheese. But it's not likely.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/22 07:38:10
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Ground Crew
Lost somewhere in time
|
Wow. Didn't mean to start a fight. Thanks for the responses, though, fellas.
In any case, it would seem the answer to the question is pretty clear. Regardless of what the RaI is, the RaW does not support embarked as counting for base-to-base. That was all I needed.
|
I am the very model of a Commissar Imperial.
I have knowledge of our enemies, both xenos and heretical.
Armies Thus Far:
~ 4,000 points.
~ 500 points (what? I'm working on it) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/21 21:35:04
Subject: Re:Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
If it is, the most annoying unit for eldar/ SoB/ DE to play-
LR achilles with a techmarine inside.
5 turns of vicious shooting:
"ha! I have blown that annoying TFC off!"
"screw screw, bang bang, twist twist, presto! good as new"
"  ing  marine,  ing fixing when  ing embarked, can't even  ing touch the  ing guy in a  ing indestructible piece of  .
 ing  and then he  s his  ing  into that  ing  . Oh my  ing  , what a load of  .  itty  ."
*collapses*
"hey, are you okay?"
"  "
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/21 21:36:31
DS:90-S++G+++M++B++I+Plotr06#+D+++A++++/eWD251R+++T(Ot)DM+
JB: I like the concept of a free Shrike roaming through the treetops of the jungle. I'm not sure that I like the idea of a real Shrike sitting on my couch eating my Skittles.
corpsesarefun: Thank god I missed be nice to shrike day.
greenskin lynn: because of all the skittles and soda, you basically live off sugar water, like some sort of freakish human-hummingbird hybrid. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/21 22:19:35
Subject: Vehicle Rules Clarification
|
 |
[DCM]
Sentient OverBear
|
This post made my joints ache.
Locking for thread necromancy.
|
DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++
Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k. Rule #1 - BBAP
|
|
 |
 |
|